Sedona RawFood Dehydrator Review

Sedona RawFood Dehydrator Review

The other week I was asked if I wanted to review the Tribest Sedona Dehydrator AND give one of them away! I of course jumped at the chance and immediately ordered The Dehydrator Bible for some ‘raw food’ inspiration!

If you’ve never heard of a dehydrator before, they look like a large microwave and use low temperatures to ‘fan dry’ food. They remove water and moisture from food which essentially increases the food’s shelf-life and creates delicious and nutritious, tasty ‘dried’ snacks that are perfect for on-the-go. Dried apple rings are one of my all time favourite snacks and now I could finally make them at home too!

Sedona Dehydrator

 

Dehydrators can be used to dehydrate herbs and seasonings such as basil, lavender and mint; fruits such as apples, strawberries, bananas, apricots, mangos and pineapple; and vegetables such as kale, sweet potato and asparagus.

Dried foods such as fruit make an ideal snack on their own or in a dried fruit & nut trail mix, cucumber slices can be used with dips and other vegetables can be rehydrated before eating (by simply putting them in water as you do with dried mushrooms from the packet!). Dried vegetables keep for much longer than fresh and foods such as dried tomatoes are ideal for adding to stews.

 

dehydrated mushrooms

 *Image from MyRecipes.Com

 

Dehydrated foods retain almost 100% of their nutritional content whilst creating an environment where bacteria cannot grow. Once dehydrated (and 75% of the moisture is removed) food must be stored in an airtight jar or container, in a cool dark place; dehydrated fruits and vegetables can have a shelf life of up to 30 years! Dried foods can be costly at the supermarket so dehydrating foods at home means you can save money on your shopping bill too!

Foods are typically dehydrated at 46-55 degrees C or 115-130 degrees F for several hours (see below for variances) .. I used The Dehydrator Bible as a reference for what temperatures to use and for how long to dehydrate the foods for (as well as good old Google!!).

 

And here is what I’ve dehydrated so far 🙂

 

  • Apple Rings –  Peel (optional), slice & dip in lemon juice to prevent browning. Dehydrate at 130 degrees F/55 degrees C for 6 hours. The dried apple rings tasted amazing and made such a convenient snack to take in your bag!
  • Tip – Before they go in the dehydrator use an all in one apple corer, peeler & slicer to make life easy!!

dehydrated apple rings

dehydrated apple rings

dehydrated apple rings

  • Strawberry Halves –  Slice off the tops, slice in half & dip in lemon juice to prevent browning. Dehydrate at 130 degrees F/55 degrees C for 8 hours. The strawberries halves tasted amazing, super sweet & would be perfect as a snack or with porridge or yoghurt!

dehydrated strawberries

  • Banana Chips –  Peel, slice & dip in lemon juice to prevent browning. Dehydrate at 130 degrees F/55 degrees C for 8-10 hours. I loved the banana chips, they are chewy and taste amazing. Don’t expect ‘hard’ chips though – you would have to deep fry them for that!!
  • Tip – Use a banana slicer to get even sized pieces!

dehydrated banana chips

  • Kale Crisps – I have already posted about how to kale crisps in the oven, but here is what you do for ‘dehydrated’ kale crisps! Using a whole bunch of kale peel off bite-sized leaf pieces from the stem, wash and dry (I used a paper towel). Mix together 2 tbsp oil with seasonings e.g. 1 tbsp paprika, 1 tsp salt and 1 tsp chilli flakes and pour over the kale, massaging the leaves with your hands until they are all coated. Dehydrate at 135 degrees F/57 degrees C for 3-4 hours or until crispy. I stored mine in an empty jar to keep them airtight! 

dehydrated kale crisps

dehydrated kale crisps

dehydrated kale crisps

And the “pièce de résistance” ….

  • Fruit Leather Roll-Ups! These beauties taste like those ‘roll up sweets’ and are so easy to make.. simply blend your fruit until it becomes a ‘pourable pulp’ consistency – I used 1 mango and 3 strawberries (the strawberries made the consistency just perfect), then pour onto a drying sheet and spread out until 1/4 inch thick. Dehydrate at 46 degrees C/115 degrees F for 10 hours. Carefully peel off the drying sheet and cut into strips. Roll up with baking parchment and tie with string (optional!).
  • Each Fruit Leather (x 7) provides: 22 calories, 0.1g fat, 5.9g carbs and 0.3g protein.

dehydrated fruit roll ups

dehydrated fruit roll ups

dehydrated fruit roll ups

Do you have a dehydrator?! I would love to know what you make in it and can’t wait to start making ‘recipes’ in it too.. the ‘Raw Chocolate Cookies’ on Tribest’s website look AMAZING (click ‘recipes’ then ‘desserts’!).

************************************

**March/April 2014 Giveaway**

Tribest have been kind enough to offer you the chance to win a Tribest Sedona Dehydrator for yourself.. before you enter though please consider if you have the space for one. Ideally you need a large kitchen or utility room. The dimensions are; width: 19.7″, height: 14.6″ & depth: 17″.

To enter this giveaway all you have to do is:

1) Leave a comment below telling me how you would use a dehydrator at home.

&

2) Register your entry in the widget below!

3) For extra entries follow the instructions within the widget (optional)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This giveaway will stay open for 3 weeks (from Saturday March 15th until Saturday April 5th 2014) and the winner will be picked at random using the widget. The winner’s name will be displayed within the widget and I will contact them directly to arrange delivery. Due to postal reasons this giveaway is open to UK residents only (so sorry!).

Thank you for your support & good luck!!

 

*A sample of the product mentioned was supplied to me free of charge to try, however this review is 100% honest and of my own opinion. I was not influenced in any way by the free samples supplied and do not promote this product more than other products that I have not reviewed. The product that I am giving away were supplied to me free of charge however I chose to do this giveaway based on the merits of the product itself (from a personal/professional point of view). I do not promote this product more than others that I am not giving away. This blog post contains affiliate links. Please read my disclaimer page for more information.

Share:

236 Comments

  1. Natalie White
    March 15, 2014 / 10:50 pm

    I’d use it to make yummy vegetable crisps – especially parsnip crisps, which are my favourites 🙂 x

    • March 16, 2014 / 10:06 pm

      this is perfect for me shen my/family/neighbours gardens/allotments have ‘glut’ of frui or vegetables

  2. Oliver
    March 15, 2014 / 10:54 pm

    Great giveaway nic. I would use a dehydrator for pre-gym snacks, those apple rings look great!

  3. March 15, 2014 / 10:57 pm

    I’d use it for apples! I love fired apples with cinnamon and natural yogurt! Gorgeous. x

  4. Kate
    March 15, 2014 / 10:58 pm

    Hi, great giveaway! I would use the dehydrator to save some money and make myself on the go snack to take to Uni for those long days in the library where I need something to keep me going and don’t want to hit the unhealthy vending machines!

  5. Emma
    March 15, 2014 / 11:06 pm

    Ooh the possibilities are endless fruit and any other suggestions you will undoubtedly give us

  6. Catherine Smith
    March 15, 2014 / 11:09 pm

    I loved dried fruit! Would be perfect to have my own so that I can make my own batch of apple rings! 😀 xx

  7. Niki
    March 15, 2014 / 11:18 pm

    I would definitely use the dehydrator to make some cheezy kale chips!

  8. March 15, 2014 / 11:19 pm

    Veggie crisp and dried strawberry. ..not together. Another fab giveaway!

  9. Maxine
    March 15, 2014 / 11:21 pm

    Oh wow! Been hankering over wanting one of these for ages! Would love to make my own crisps and healthy snacks, dried kale is surprisingly delicious!!!

  10. nicole butterworth
    March 15, 2014 / 11:24 pm

    This looks fun! I would use it to make Dehydrated unsulphured apricots and mango snacks to snack on at work and Uni! 🙂

    • March 16, 2014 / 8:32 am

      Would love to try those apricots next.. they taste like toffee don’t they!!

      • nicole
        March 16, 2014 / 3:15 pm

        They do indeed, I love the taste of them 🙂

  11. Jules Morgan
    March 15, 2014 / 11:43 pm

    Amazing idea!! Im experimenting more and more with nutritious food and this would aid my journey…wow they look amazing. My other half has come home to many unusual treats so far but think of the things i could make with this!! So basically I would be making anything weird and wonderful and packed with goodness and take lots of pics for everyone to see how fantastic they are xxx

  12. Sophie Parker
    March 16, 2014 / 12:00 am

    Banana chips, a healthy version to the hard chips would be great! x

  13. Sam Utting
    March 16, 2014 / 12:15 am

    I’d use it for beetroot and kale crisps – in fact any kind of veg 🙂 It’d be an amazing kitchen gadget to own!

  14. Paul B
    March 16, 2014 / 12:54 am

    apples bananas pineapple … be marvelous to have them without the additives. Love to make the kids the fruit roll things too.

  15. Yoojin
    March 16, 2014 / 7:42 am

    What a wonderful giveaway!
    I would definitely use the dehydrator to make dried fruit & veggie chips! Strawberries, bananas, zucchini, sweet potato… oh the possibilities would be endless 🙂

  16. Kara
    March 16, 2014 / 8:16 am

    Wow fab giveaway iv been lusting over a dehydrator for so long. Wow the lists are endless what I would make. Dried fruit for snacks, kale crisps, own pizza bases, almond cookies with the leftover almond pulp from making my almond milk….

  17. Ashleigh Allan
    March 16, 2014 / 9:12 am

    for vegetable crisps – yum!

  18. Katherine Teff
    March 16, 2014 / 9:18 am

    I would make fruit leathers, then cut them into cute little shapes to trick my children into thinking they are sweeties! The strawberries look fantastic, too!

  19. Mela
    March 16, 2014 / 9:22 am

    I love the idea of a dehydrator! I would make some beef jerky as a packed snack for my husband (considering all safety issues with drying meat). He is sometime stuck at his desk for hours without eating. I would also make dry mangos as they are quite pricey…. and all other delicious fruits 🙂

  20. tracey Belcher
    March 16, 2014 / 9:29 am

    What wouldn’t I use it for!!! dried fruit, crisps, storage of food would be amazing

  21. Heather Haigh
    March 16, 2014 / 9:32 am

    flax crackers, dried fruit, veg and herbs, kale chips, dehydrator bickies – oh everythtng!

  22. David Mitchell
    March 16, 2014 / 9:39 am

    I am going to make delicious fruit crisps but try and do it with exotic fruits like guava and dragonfruit. It should be exciting!

  23. Calum Tait
    March 16, 2014 / 9:52 am

    I would make fruit leather with it as it’s so expensive to buy in the shops. My neighbour also has lots of apple trees and we can never get through the apple glut in the autumn so dehydrating the apples as chips to last the winter would be fantastic.

  24. iain maciver
    March 16, 2014 / 10:10 am

    dried fruit for sure

  25. Laura Costello
    March 16, 2014 / 10:13 am

    I snack ALOT so I would use it for all kinds of fruits to snack on xx

  26. Amy Gittins
    March 16, 2014 / 10:16 am

    Wow great giveaway! Always fancied making some sun dried tomato flaxseed crackers with a dehydrator, to go with a healthy homemade dip…and undoubtedly kale chips using your recipe with nutritional yeast. Heavenly :0)

  27. Sophie
    March 16, 2014 / 10:17 am

    Im a massive raw foodie so would go to town and make awesome stuff like raw burgers, raw doritos etc…using flaxseeds and plants!!! Amazing!!

  28. Victoria
    March 16, 2014 / 10:22 am

    Love this! What wouldn’t I dehydrate?! Haha so many options! I think I’d start with apple rings as they’re my favourite dried fruit 😀

  29. March 16, 2014 / 10:22 am

    I would make kale chips, vegetable crisps which I love. I also have an expensive addiction to dried mango….
    Tash | ballet, dance & fitness blog

  30. Sharon Cunningham
    March 16, 2014 / 10:32 am

    Wow! What a great giveaway! I’m trying to eat more healthy foods, more raw foods and this would certainly help! Kale crisps sounds good and the apples you made! Lots to try! Good luck everyone!

  31. kellyjo walters
    March 16, 2014 / 10:46 am

    I love dried fruit and veg crisps esp beetroot crisps, but I really want to do the fruit roll ups.. where di you get the drying paper from?
    I also would dehydrate the pulp from my juicer and turn into crackers yum

  32. March 16, 2014 / 10:48 am

    I would make fruit roll ups as husband buys the expensive sports gels that he hates the taste of, but as he is training for a marathon to raise funds for RNIB, he would love it if I could make him tasty and healthy treats.

  33. jo hutchinson
    March 16, 2014 / 10:48 am

    I would use the dehydrator to make prune leather roll ups.

  34. Rachel
    March 16, 2014 / 10:54 am

    What a brilliant giveaway! I would love to make some dried veg and fruit chips! The possilities are endless!
    Good luck everyone!
    x

  35. nicole butterworth
    March 16, 2014 / 11:23 am

    This looks interesting! I would use it to make Dehydrated unsulphured apricots and mango snacks to take to work! 🙂

  36. Judy
    March 16, 2014 / 11:27 am

    I would mainly use it to dry fruit to mix with home made muesli.

  37. Tammy Tudor
    March 16, 2014 / 11:29 am

    What a genius idea! I’d use in on fruit to make unique snacks

  38. G Grant
    March 16, 2014 / 11:38 am

    Fruit leathers, always wanted to have a go at making those but the thought of leaving the oven on for ever and a day rather put me off.

  39. Gemma Rowe
    March 16, 2014 / 11:58 am

    Looks amazing 😀 I would love this! I would try it with everything. I love dried mango so would use it for that for sure x

  40. March 16, 2014 / 12:07 pm

    It would be perfect for when there is a ‘glut’ of fruit/vegetable in my/family/neighbours gardens and allotments

  41. G Grant
    March 16, 2014 / 12:11 pm

    Fruit leather without having to put the oven on for hours.

  42. March 16, 2014 / 12:12 pm

    Perfect for me when myself/family/neighbours have a ‘glut’ of fruit or vegetables in gardens/allotmentd

  43. Helen B
    March 16, 2014 / 12:22 pm

    I would love to use this for vegetable crisps and apple slices

  44. Tracy Nixon
    March 16, 2014 / 12:41 pm

    For vegetable crisps! I adore them!

  45. Beverley
    March 16, 2014 / 12:42 pm

    I have an apple and pear tree and seem to waste so much fruit because we can’t use it all so I would dehydrate some for winter!

  46. Paul Wilson
    March 16, 2014 / 1:01 pm

    I’ve wanted one of these for ages! I’d use it on the fruit and veg from the garden, got tons of apples.

  47. Gina M
    March 16, 2014 / 1:06 pm

    I’d use it to make some healthy snacks for my husband to take to work.

  48. Anita
    March 16, 2014 / 1:14 pm

    I would use it to dry most of the things from my garden this year. This way I can save money in the future and be better prepared and healthier!!!

  49. March 16, 2014 / 1:21 pm

    You have the best giveaways! You’re UK readers are lucky to be able to participate 🙂 Not sure if I would have the space for a dehydrator in my new house but if I do I will definitely get one. Love dried apple ring, yum! x

  50. Rachel Barber
    March 16, 2014 / 1:33 pm

    I’d use it to make fruit roll ups first of all – i might get my very fussy boyfriend to reach his 5-a-day they way 🙂

  51. Aislinn Wilson
    March 16, 2014 / 1:36 pm

    Perfect for making snacks for work, fantastic nibbles for the kids, would even make a great wee combination of nibbles for cinema trips 🙂

  52. Edward Guerreiro
    March 16, 2014 / 1:52 pm

    I have two pear trees in my garden, which have been there for 30+ years. Every year they produce so many pears, that I don’t really know what to do with them, as it gets a bit boring eating them every day. I usually give most of them away to friends. But if I had this, and the pears came out as tasty as I imagine they would, I could get some variety, and therefore, they would be less boring to eat.

    I would also like to try adding dehydrated fruit, especially strawberries, to different recipes. I think that a chocolate cake could only get better if you were to add some to the mix 🙂

  53. winnie
    March 16, 2014 / 2:06 pm

    blueberries 😀

  54. Liz Briggs
    March 16, 2014 / 2:08 pm

    My family love dried fruit and crisps – So would be used endlessly 🙂

  55. clair downham
    March 16, 2014 / 2:08 pm

    i love vegetable crisps especially parsnips so these and perhaps apple for the kids

  56. Michelle Moore
    March 16, 2014 / 3:27 pm

    I would use this to make crisps! I’d also use it for drying strawberries, as I love them and it would be a great way to enjoy your 5 a day! Ooooh, pineapple! That would be awesome, along with Papaya… Mmmmmmm

  57. shereen barry
    March 16, 2014 / 3:29 pm

    love this would cut down on wasted fruit and add value to morning breakfast and snack super idea

  58. Caroline H
    March 16, 2014 / 3:35 pm

    I’d definitely use it for herbs as I love growing them but always end up with a glut and bunches drying all over the place. I’d also love to try healthy veg crisps with parsnip, beetroot, etc.

  59. Mark Witherington
    March 16, 2014 / 3:53 pm

    I would iuse it to dry frui for a handy snack

  60. Mark Witherington
    March 16, 2014 / 3:54 pm

    I would use it to dry some fruit for something to snack on

  61. Tasha
    March 16, 2014 / 4:01 pm

    Sweet potato crisps!! Just about to slice some up to dehydrate in the oven 🙂

  62. John Taggart
    March 16, 2014 / 4:24 pm

    I would love to try it out on the banana chips

  63. Debbie Clendon
    March 16, 2014 / 4:25 pm

    I would dry mango’s

  64. Eithne McGonigle
    March 16, 2014 / 4:44 pm

    I’d definitely be making a lot of apple rings! I love the ones from tesco, but they are pretty expensive for how many I go through!

    Would also love to make kale crisps as I have yet to try them! (On the to-do list definitely!)

  65. Jill Webb
    March 16, 2014 / 4:45 pm

    I grow plenty of fruit in the garden so would use it to store some of that and the veg crisps sound good

  66. carole S
    March 16, 2014 / 4:54 pm

    I’d love to dry apples – I’ve tried in the oven but it didn’t work so I would really like to try this

  67. John Tunnicliffe
    March 16, 2014 / 4:57 pm

    Ooo…….vegetable crisps sound interesting!

  68. Laurra Nalty
    March 16, 2014 / 5:01 pm

    Oooh have always wanted a dehydrator! Since my over-worked juicer packed in today I would use it to make the switch from juice to veg crisps, raw pizza bases and anything else I could throw in there!

  69. Steve
    March 16, 2014 / 5:01 pm

    Sounds incredible I’d use the dehydrator for turning veg and fruit into tasty crispy snacks!

  70. Lisa Pepper
    March 16, 2014 / 5:03 pm

    It would be good for making dried fruit like apple rings 🙂

  71. Ruth Crawford
    March 16, 2014 / 5:05 pm

    I’d use it to make healthy snacks for my children. I spend ages now reading ingredients and trying to avoid salt and sugar if foods for them. I could make dried fruit snacks, crisps all without nasty chemicals and added salt/sugar. I need one of these in my life!

  72. Helena
    March 16, 2014 / 5:12 pm

    I have a lot of blackcurrant and gooseberry bushes – would love to test out how well gooseberries dehydrate, I think they might make a good snack.

  73. March 16, 2014 / 5:19 pm

    I am obsessed cooking with herbs and I would love to make my own which would help me save on money and probably have a healthier and tastier herb! Plus, I am week for dehydrated mangoes, apricots and pineapple, yet they are so expensive! I would dehydrate them and then cover them in a sweet chilli powder (Chamoy, it is Mexican) to make a spicy little snack which reminds me of home!

  74. EMMA WALTERS
    March 16, 2014 / 5:55 pm

    fruit for snacks & would love to experiment with different foods, maybe parsnips or sweet potato

  75. Kevyn Cooke
    March 16, 2014 / 6:17 pm

    I’d certainly get some use out of this! Dried fruits, vegetables, meats! I’m salivating at the thought! 😛

  76. March 16, 2014 / 6:20 pm

    great idea save a LOT of waste and money

  77. Helen B
    March 16, 2014 / 6:22 pm

    Healthy snacks for work 🙂

  78. Sarah Hill
    March 16, 2014 / 6:50 pm

    Surplus berries from my allotment.

  79. Joanna
    March 16, 2014 / 7:00 pm

    May lovely healthy gifts for my friends and prove healthy can taste good!!

  80. David Powell
    March 16, 2014 / 7:29 pm

    Dry is a more energy sensitive way of preserving food than even freezing.

  81. adeinne tonner
    March 16, 2014 / 7:37 pm

    I would use it for fruit and vegetable snacks

  82. Penny Bates
    March 16, 2014 / 7:56 pm

    What a fabulous prize! I’d use it to make apple rings for my Mum – she’s housebound now and these are the one thing she always asks me to get for her and it’s not that easy to find really nice ones. I just know homemade would be the best!

  83. Allan Smith
    March 16, 2014 / 8:30 pm

    I would love to try this with EVERYTHING! Especially apples.

  84. Troy
    March 16, 2014 / 8:34 pm

    Looks like a great dehydrator

  85. Troy
    March 16, 2014 / 8:35 pm

    I’d use it for apples!

  86. frances hopkins
    March 16, 2014 / 9:13 pm

    Im not sure as I’ve never tried one before, but it would great to experiment!!

  87. Victoria
    March 16, 2014 / 9:40 pm

    Oh my gosh, what wouldn’t I use it for? My first go would probably be with apples I think.

  88. Octavia
    March 16, 2014 / 9:43 pm

    Let me count the ways: kale chips, veggie crisps, dried strawberries, raspberries and bananas. And then I’d start experimenting .. dried mushrooms, courgettes perhaps, tomatoes… yum!

  89. Nicole kane
    March 16, 2014 / 9:44 pm

    Wow! I could use this for so many things! First I would try blueberries, banana and apples to use as handy healthy snacks on the go, then I would try some sweet potatoes and of course some strawberries for my princess, her favourite fruit .

  90. D DaSilva
    March 16, 2014 / 9:44 pm

    Would love this for my mom! (Of course I would probably use it to :p ) the possibilities! xD

  91. Alessandra
    March 16, 2014 / 9:48 pm

    I’ve always wanted a dehydrator! Your snacks look amazing!

    I’d make tons of dried strawberries – maybe cover some in dark chocolate too. I’d also dry tons of fruit rings, like apple, pear, pineapple and mango, and make a dried fruit salad! I keep meaning to make fruit leather in my oven too, so this would be perfect for that.

  92. Sonam
    March 16, 2014 / 9:50 pm

    I’d like to try making the fruit leather roll-ups, they look better than the sweets x

  93. Sonam
    March 16, 2014 / 9:53 pm

    And kale chips! Apples, strawberries! Just everything and anything i can

  94. Sarah
    March 16, 2014 / 9:56 pm

    To make kale and vegetable crisps yum!

  95. Daisy
    March 16, 2014 / 9:58 pm

    Perfect for healthy snacks for a mum to be! X

  96. Sarah Wyatt
    March 16, 2014 / 10:20 pm

    On Saturday Kitchen this week they make pork crisps by dehydrating the skin and then deep frying it – turned out like huge pork scratchings and they looked amazing so I would try that!

  97. lynn mitchell
    March 16, 2014 / 10:28 pm

    to dry mango i just love it and i love pineapple and apple and banana and most every dried fruit in fact i prefer them to fresh ha ha

  98. Saronya
    March 16, 2014 / 10:34 pm

    Hi, I’d love to be the lucky owner of the Sedona Dehydrator! I have a huge list of snacks I’d love to make including but not limited to kale, parsnips, beetroot, carrot, sweet potato, mango, strawberries, berries, and banana. I’d also love to try making the fruit roll ups as they remind me of my favourite sweet, fruit winders from childhood 😀

  99. Jessica Wilde
    March 16, 2014 / 10:46 pm

    Definitely for banana – all the supermarket dried / crisped bananas have tonnes of added sugar and fat… But I love that concentrated taste of banana, so the dehydrator would be perfect!

  100. julie laing
    March 17, 2014 / 12:01 am

    to make some fruit crisps

  101. Wendy Brown
    March 17, 2014 / 12:51 am

    i’d love to get my hands on one of these to try them out.
    i’d live to make strawberries and mango to go in to my breakfast cereal, and would dry petals for salad decoration.

  102. sofia s.
    March 17, 2014 / 1:07 am

    for fruits…

  103. Jordan
    March 17, 2014 / 3:01 am

    I would make kale chips and dried pineapple!

  104. Calli
    March 17, 2014 / 4:15 am

    All of the above! apples, fruit rolls, kale chips and drying out nuts!

  105. Paul Buchanan
    March 17, 2014 / 5:52 am

    I would use the dehydrator for all kinds of fruit. I’m thinking, one of the *wake up* mochas with apple rings as a snack. Also something is telling me that pears would taste delightful, I’d even look at grapes dipped in 0% natural greek yoghurt.

  106. Phil Darling
    March 17, 2014 / 7:35 am

    I’d use it to make healthy snacks for my children. I think they’d especially like apple and strawberry

  107. March 17, 2014 / 7:53 am

    OMG, What wouldn´t I do with the dehydrator! From snacks, to poppurri, to jerky, preserves, anything I can do, I will do! I so need this.

  108. Sheila Reeves
    March 17, 2014 / 8:17 am

    I’d use it to make vegetable crisps for healthy (and cheap!) snacks

  109. Lindsay
    March 17, 2014 / 8:55 am

    I’d love to make vegetable crisps – as crisps are one of my biggest weaknesses and being able to make my own would be great.

  110. Hassni
    March 17, 2014 / 10:05 am

    Lots of different fruits!

  111. Matty
    March 17, 2014 / 11:02 am

    I would use it for all the herbs in my garden and make some tea! 🙂

  112. Angie Hoggett
    March 17, 2014 / 1:07 pm

    I’d love to freeze dry berries for my baking and also for use in salads to make them healthy and nutritious without having to add calorific dressings

  113. Helen Grayson
    March 17, 2014 / 3:34 pm

    Drying fruit – I love dried fruit on my cereals an this would be much better than buying them ready dried !

  114. Alexa St Clair
    March 17, 2014 / 4:07 pm

    Yummy!!

  115. Hayley Elizabeth
    March 17, 2014 / 6:28 pm

    This is amazing. I have wanted a dehydrator for ages!

  116. Katie Clarke
    March 17, 2014 / 7:06 pm

    I’d use it to make lots of healthy snacks for me and my boyfriend

  117. Laura Pritchard
    March 17, 2014 / 8:20 pm

    I’d use it on mango chunks

  118. ruth
    March 17, 2014 / 9:43 pm

    I would use it on everything but most the fruits my daughter refuses to eat to try and find a new way of getting the nutrients in her!

  119. Hannah R
    March 17, 2014 / 9:44 pm

    I would use it to further my weight loss journey… and treat my pet rats with some crispy fruit! 🙂

  120. Robert Baxter
    March 17, 2014 / 9:49 pm

    never even heard of one of these before but looks like an awesome bit of kit for making healthy snacks!!

  121. Ema G
    March 17, 2014 / 9:55 pm

    I’d throw in every sort of fruit I could find so I had a big bag of fruit “pick n mix” 🙂

  122. Amanda
    March 17, 2014 / 10:39 pm

    If I had the dehydrator I would use it to make snacks for work, I work in retail and in busy times sometimes there isn’t a moment to sit down and eat, so i like to take in small but healthy things to snack on to give me the energy to work. The dehydrator will allow me to make these at home and get creative 🙂 Another great giving away THANKS xx

  123. Teresa Lee
    March 17, 2014 / 10:46 pm

    Mainly fruit and herbs

  124. Christina Brown
    March 17, 2014 / 11:57 pm

    Love love the fruit leather roll-ups idea! Also like the idea of being able to dehydrate my own fruits as I keep finding that the prepackaged ones are often sweetened!

  125. March 18, 2014 / 5:21 pm

    I’ve fancied a dehydrator since I saw a show where they were drying out minced beef to take camping. Those roll ups look amazing too.

  126. Helen G
    March 18, 2014 / 6:10 pm

    I’d make fruit chips. They’d be perfect for work to help me avoid that mid-morning slump.

  127. Diane
    March 18, 2014 / 7:16 pm

    I would love to try this equipment on all fruits and some vegetables. Always wanted one. Hope I get lucky.

  128. Vicky Carlson
    March 18, 2014 / 9:39 pm

    One of my favorite things to make is apple rings.

  129. Alice
    March 19, 2014 / 8:34 am

    We’ve apple and pear trees in the garden so I’d be getting them in there and making up my own granola for the mornings….plus aiming to create the ultimate healthy minced pie come christmas with a homegrown reduced sugar filling thanks to the dehydrator! x

  130. March 19, 2014 / 12:04 pm

    I love that you can do the kale chips! The oven process is so tricky. I would want to try spinach chips too!

  131. Emily Clark
    March 19, 2014 / 1:36 pm

    Chickpeas. Dried chickpeas covered in a tiny bit of olive oil and some salt are absolutely delicious!

  132. March 19, 2014 / 2:30 pm

    I’d use it to make tasty snacks with the glut of fruit we always find ourselves either freezing or jamming every year!

  133. March 19, 2014 / 2:34 pm

    Makingt tasty snacks with our glutof fruit evry Autumn instead of freezing it or making jam with it would be great!

  134. Paul Witney
    March 19, 2014 / 10:15 pm

    Fruit

  135. March 20, 2014 / 12:44 pm

    This sounds amazing! I think I would really want to experiment with vegetables and make some yummy crisps – I’m a terror for too much sugar so I’d like to make more savoury treats. I also love to try making herbs, sounds like you can do some really great things with it! 🙂

  136. Laura Caraher
    March 21, 2014 / 12:19 am

    Fab giveaway as I spend a small fortune every month buying dried fruit. I would use it on cherries and raspberries 🙂

  137. Hannah Rowell
    March 21, 2014 / 1:21 pm

    AHH looks sooo amazing! I would make flaxseed crackers flavoured with black pepper and salt, a yummy healthy snack with your homemade hummus! I would also dry tomatoes in it to have in sandwiches and on top of pasta. I would use it to dry cherries with it smothered in raw chocolate, or my ultimate favourite would be to stuff dates with peanut/almond butter and then dehydrate them for a yummy pick me up snack! I could also make lemon and lime flavoured fruit loops to take on the go with me to uni, perfect for when youre bored in lectures and just need a healthy snack 🙂

  138. Matt
    March 21, 2014 / 1:28 pm

    Big fan of dried apple and strawberries but would definitely be up for trying anything!

  139. Esme
    March 21, 2014 / 1:37 pm

    I would use it to make appple rings, I LOVE apple rings 🙂 xx

  140. Kel Ellen Hirst
    March 21, 2014 / 8:45 pm

    My Dad has an allotment so this would be a fab way for him to use some of his fruit & veg

  141. Tricia
    March 22, 2014 / 8:17 am

    So many fruits to be able to preserve when there is a glut of them. Great for work.

  142. Sam
    March 22, 2014 / 12:17 pm

    I’d use it to dehydrate fruit, so I could have seasonal fruit all year round without the food miles!

  143. Sarah Mann
    March 22, 2014 / 12:35 pm

    I absolutely love the idea of a dehydrator at home, I love making kale crisps but they don’t seem to keep that well if made in the oven & my colleagues are dying to try them. I would probably have this on in the kitchen most days to dry various fruits, vegetables and berries from my garden to make my own snack/trail mix to easily take with me as well as kale crisps, I love the idea of dried mango pieces for that sweet treat. & by making them at home you know exactly what has gone into everything 🙂

  144. Dawn
    March 22, 2014 / 3:58 pm

    Wow! Vegetables, fruit…..the possibilities are endless! Love the idea of the fruit winders, as I refuse to buy the shop made ones. Think my youngest would love to make his own too 🙂

  145. Ruby
    March 22, 2014 / 5:09 pm

    I’d use a dehydrator to use up all the leftover fruits and veggies at the end of the week! Fab for snacks and after gym treats. Could also make some cute gifts to give to friends and family :o)

  146. joe gersch
    March 22, 2014 / 7:33 pm

    i would use it to dry fruit

  147. Carolsue
    March 22, 2014 / 10:29 pm

    I would use it to make Beef Jerky

  148. ashleigh armstrong
    March 22, 2014 / 11:21 pm

    healthy snacks for my little girl and pretty decorations for my kitchen or as gifts x

  149. Emily Ryan
    March 22, 2014 / 11:37 pm

    Once again another incredible give away! You’re always giving Nic!! Well I would use it to make kale crisps and hopefully combine spices or sea salt to create a flavour my mother will enjoy that might help her get off her tayto crisps addiction (like 5 packets a day!!) Then I would make yummy treats like you sweet fruit rolls, that will last days which is great as I’m a student with big exams coming up so I’m in need of long lasting recipes that I have prepared days beforehand!!

  150. March 23, 2014 / 2:19 am

    It would be my dream come true to win this because I’ve been pricing dehydrators and they are super expensive! I love that this one has so many trays. I’ve been really trying to eat more raw foods but with no dehydrator this is tough. I would dehydrate these walnut crackers I saw online and these banana pecan pancakes along with other fruits and veggies.

  151. March 23, 2014 / 2:22 am

    I would totally dehydrate bananas, mango and kiwi.

  152. Ashleigh
    March 23, 2014 / 9:39 am

    Would use to dehydrate the fruit from my allotment

  153. Amelia Avossa
    March 23, 2014 / 1:09 pm

    everything! i have read so much about them and my Fave Crisps are Apple Crisps which are Dehydrated… id be so excited to try a whole load of different things 🙂

  154. Sheryl Keene
    March 23, 2014 / 8:11 pm

    I would use it to dry apples, mangos, tomatoes, herbs, make fruit leather and jerky. And so many other things!

  155. Maggie Carideo
    March 23, 2014 / 8:36 pm

    I get such abundance from my garden that I want to preserve as much as possible. Dehydrating is a great way to do that.

  156. March 23, 2014 / 9:09 pm

    Just found your blog I absolutely love it!! Can’t wait to try out some of your recipes!!

    • March 24, 2014 / 8:38 am

      Aw thank you!! Let me know what you make 🙂 xx

  157. March 23, 2014 / 10:36 pm

    I’m going to use it to make energy bars out of my juicer’s leftover. Create pseudo-crepes. Make “vegetable” pasta.

  158. sam pope
    March 23, 2014 / 10:36 pm

    not sure! but sounds interesting!

  159. Anna
    March 23, 2014 / 10:50 pm

    I’m fighting the endometriosis eating only organic food and keeping the estrogen under control with food and I think the Dehydrator will help me in this fight 🙂

  160. Kat
    March 25, 2014 / 12:21 am

    I have been looking at dehydrators for a while and am really excited about the Sedona.
    I am taking my first major hiking expedition this summer and will be hiking the John Muir Trail through the Sierra Nevada range into Yosemite. I

  161. Phil
    March 25, 2014 / 6:52 am

    I know my wife and I would be much closer to our goals of eating healthier food and more raw foods if we won this giveaway. Honestly I’d rather be making kale chips in the Sedona in our kitchen than in my wife’s preference of the excalibur dehydrators.

  162. Sam
    March 25, 2014 / 2:39 pm

    I’ve wanted a dehydrator for SO long…my fingers are v tightly crossed! I’d use the Sedona Dehydrator to make healthy, travel-friendly snacks for my partner and I (we both have physical jobs and work long hours) and also to try and create some new funky dishes to share with my family, friends and clients (I’m a PT!). Thanks for the competition! xx

  163. Rachna
    March 26, 2014 / 7:47 am

    I’d totally use it for some yummy Kale crisping

  164. laura jayne bates
    March 26, 2014 / 4:59 pm

    to make healthy snacks for my 3 girls

  165. Jane
    March 27, 2014 / 4:28 pm

    I quite like the look of the fruit leather straps.

  166. Stephanie
    March 27, 2014 / 9:37 pm

    Anything & everything. Definitely intrigued to try kale crisps 🙂

  167. Little_em00
    March 27, 2014 / 10:57 pm

    Hi Nic, I would use the dehydrator to make healthy snacks for myself my children. Veggie crisps would defiantly be the first to be made! X

  168. Joy Lawson
    March 27, 2014 / 11:07 pm

    Apples & strawberries to add to cereal 🙂

  169. Lynn Savage
    March 28, 2014 / 2:49 pm

    I’d love a dehydrator to make fruit leather and dried fruit for snacks and also for ingredients for baking

  170. Yesenia Hinojosa
    March 28, 2014 / 11:41 pm

    I’m an elementary school teacher and would love to make yummy raw and healthy snacks to share with all my colleagues!

  171. Emily McVicker
    March 29, 2014 / 12:36 am

    apple chips!

  172. sandy henry
    March 30, 2014 / 11:56 am

    fruit x

  173. March 30, 2014 / 4:07 pm

    I would dry tomatoes from garden at end of season. I always have a glut

  174. Bella
    March 30, 2014 / 5:35 pm

    Wow! My biggest weakness is sweeties & snacking so the fruit leather roll-ups would be first! Followed by anything I could get my hands on! You never know until you try! Another fab giveaway and recipe idea.

  175. March 30, 2014 / 9:45 pm

    All my fruit so I can keep it with me when I travel and it doesn’t go mushy. Would love to try it anyway to eat raw as it’s supposed to be so much more healthy!

  176. Georgia Norton
    April 1, 2014 / 11:39 am

    Parsnip crisps!

  177. amber
    April 1, 2014 / 1:50 pm

    I would use it for my fruits, and veggies, and making jerky, i have so many ideals my kids would love it when i start making yummy snacks for them

  178. BrittD
    April 1, 2014 / 2:21 pm

    Everything! Mango, bananas, plantains,okra (wonder how this would taste)…I could go on all day.

  179. Trish D
    April 1, 2014 / 9:13 pm

    I think the roll-ups would become a firm favourite for my grandchildren as they love them! For me, apple rings then I can sit and munch at my work desk whenever I want to 🙂

  180. Mitch bush
    April 2, 2014 / 12:44 pm

    Dried fruit and fruit leathers!

  181. April 2, 2014 / 8:01 pm

    Wow this sounds fantastic! I would love to make vegetable crisps with it – sweet potato, beetroot, parsnip etc.

  182. Hannah ONeill
    April 2, 2014 / 8:53 pm

    I have a very small one but this would be way better! I love fruit leathers but they never quite work in mine!

  183. Pamela Gossage
    April 3, 2014 / 12:53 pm

    Would love this

  184. Eleanor Powell
    April 3, 2014 / 1:14 pm

    Apples and bananas

  185. Andrew Halliwell
    April 3, 2014 / 2:21 pm

    I’d certainly try it with apples first, but there’s so much experimentation to do with different things it’s impossible to say what I’d do first.

  186. rosalyn lewis
    April 3, 2014 / 7:59 pm

    I’d use it to dehydrate the mixed berries from the garden, they’d be great to add to cereals and yogurt.

  187. Lizzie jones
    April 3, 2014 / 8:11 pm

    I would def make the fruit roll ups first they look amazing!

  188. alison
    April 3, 2014 / 8:31 pm

    where would i start so much experimenting to do!!!

  189. Emma Lewis
    April 3, 2014 / 9:03 pm

    I’d dry grapefruit, I hate it fresh but I love it dried!

  190. Clint Howat
    April 3, 2014 / 9:52 pm

    Banana chips, a healthy version to the hard chips would be great.

  191. Hilary
    April 3, 2014 / 10:11 pm

    This is interesting, dehydrators seem to pretty popular in the US but I rarely see them mentioned in the media here. I once met an American guy who told me he had a dehydrator & used on whole meals to take with him on camping trips, so he could eat the same healthy, home-cooked food he made at home instead of buying the preservative-filled spaceman food sold in hiking shops. So if I had one that’s what I’d try!

  192. leigh
    April 3, 2014 / 10:34 pm

    i love fruit, but anything would be handy, just to stick in my bag, healthy snacking on hand

  193. jenna cohn
    April 4, 2014 / 2:48 am

    I like that you are able to make dishes like onion bread with a dehydrator but to be more moisture dense try to consume more fresh wet whole foods then anything dry, packaged, or processed.

  194. Mark Palmer
    April 4, 2014 / 5:47 am

    All the spare fruit from the trees in the garden

  195. Louise Britton
    April 4, 2014 / 5:52 am

    Sounds random but id use it on peas and sweetcorn to make healthy pot noodles with my slim pasta. . And parsnip chips too! Yum!

  196. Alyssa rush
    April 4, 2014 / 6:02 am

    Hi nic
    I’d use it to make sweet and savoury kale chips!
    I’d also make healthier versions of banana chips – without all the honey.
    Also wondering what dehydrated broccoli would be like? 🙂

  197. Karin Kroost
    April 4, 2014 / 6:46 am

    Goodmorning! I would love to enter this give away, from The Netherlands, so i hope i can. In my garden i have a lot of fruit, mostly pears, apples and all kinds of berries. Every year i have too much to eat so before it goes bad i make jam (a lovely give-away) and i hand out fruit. With this awesome dehydration machine i would have another great option!! I would dry and store, snack and make beautiful, healthy give-aways for my friends and family, i would❤️that. Greetings from Karin Kroost (@kadakadaz on Twitter)

  198. Tara Higgins
    April 4, 2014 / 6:48 am

    I would used the dehydrator to make absolutely everything! But particularly are the kale crisps which are my favourite.

  199. Anne Woodthorpe
    April 4, 2014 / 7:04 am

    I would give it to my sister as she loves dried fruits

  200. Kate
    April 4, 2014 / 7:40 am

    My daughter has allergies to many foods, including additives and preservatives. The dehydrator would be fantastic for making healthy snacks for her and the whole family.

  201. Paul Stephens
    April 4, 2014 / 8:28 am

    Banana, first. But to be honest I would try to dehydrate anything I could get my hands on!

  202. jade taylor
    April 4, 2014 / 8:32 am

    I’ve just gone raw and would use this for everything!!! I’d make dehydrates flax crackers, malt loaf, loads of kale chips and basically everything in my raw food books 🙂

  203. Juliet Kitson
    April 4, 2014 / 9:10 am

    What a fabulous prize! I would make some spicy beef biltong and a multitude of dried fruits. I loved the idea of the fruit roll ups as I haven’t seen a home made version of those before. Vegetable crisps would be a delicious treat to make with beetroot and parsnips. I would especially love to make the biltong though. My favourite and a very rare treat.

  204. April 4, 2014 / 10:18 am

    would love to try drying fruit sounds a brilliant idea 🙂

  205. Emma Russell-Bennett
    April 4, 2014 / 1:06 pm

    I’d definitely make apple and banana chips.

  206. Yasmin J
    April 4, 2014 / 1:07 pm

    I’d simply use it for fruit so that I can take it to work/on the go, and still get some vitamins as well!

  207. Clare Hubbard
    April 4, 2014 / 3:21 pm

    Banana chips

  208. Jennifer Rhymer
    April 4, 2014 / 4:26 pm

    This is a fantastic prize, I would love to try drying mint & other seasoning as it’s something I’ve never got round to doing. I love dried apple & banana so would use it for that and I’d try dried strawberries and it would be so healthy for the kids too 🙂

  209. Jamie
    April 4, 2014 / 6:15 pm

    Bet Banana tastes great 🙂

  210. Karen
    April 4, 2014 / 6:31 pm

    There are so many things you could do with a dehydrator. I’d love to have a go at making jerky.

  211. Moira Saunders
    April 4, 2014 / 6:44 pm

    One of my sons and I cannot eat ‘normal’ rawfood fruit becauseit makes our mouths blister, but we can eat some dehydrated versions,so I’d make some of those: apples, pears, strawberries, mango. Yum!

  212. rosalyn lewis
    April 4, 2014 / 6:57 pm

    I’m a crafter, and I’d love to be able to use the dehydrator to dry leaves and berries to use on cards and decorations. There’s really no limit to what you can do and use, can’t wait to get started! ; )

  213. Kelly Lain
    April 4, 2014 / 7:50 pm

    I would use a dehydrator to enable us to utilise the summer fruits better and be able to eat them all year round as healthy snacks.

  214. Jane Middleton
    April 4, 2014 / 8:12 pm

    for fruit to put in my cereal

  215. monika s
    April 4, 2014 / 8:34 pm

    banana and apple slices

  216. Lani Nash
    April 4, 2014 / 8:48 pm

    I would use it for pineapple and apple to add to breakfast cereal

  217. Natalie Henderson
    April 4, 2014 / 8:56 pm

    I would make lots of dried fruit snacks to help us all get healthy

  218. Jill Cordner
    April 4, 2014 / 8:58 pm

    Ooh dried banana for the kids
    Veggie crisps the list is endless xx

  219. Danika Lloyd
    April 4, 2014 / 9:08 pm

    Beef jerky!!

  220. victoria carter
    April 4, 2014 / 9:57 pm

    apple crisps look amazing for snacks at work.

  221. Karis
    April 4, 2014 / 10:09 pm

    Fruit leather roll ups

  222. Amelia Makes
    April 4, 2014 / 10:24 pm

    oh wow this would be fabulous!! Ive always wanted one since i tried Aldis vegetable crisps so i think i would experiment with all different kinds of fruit and vegetables! 🙂

    Thank you for the chance to win
    Amelia
    x

  223. jodie harvey
    April 5, 2014 / 12:31 am

    fruity snacks for the kiddies 🙂

  224. sj wesley
    April 5, 2014 / 1:42 am

    I would make fruit chips to take to work with me 🙂

  225. rosalyn lewis
    April 5, 2014 / 10:41 am

    I love to pick hedgerow fruits, it would be great to be able to dry them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


− three = 2

For healthy recipes & nutrition tips join the Nic's Nutrition newsletter below!