Beanies Flavoured Coffee – Review & Giveaway!

Beanies Flavoured Coffee – Review & Giveaway!

Calling all coffee lovers.. There’s a new bean in town.. and this time it’s flavoured! Introducing Beanies .. The Original Flavour Coffee Company! Beanies are one of the very few companies that offer (and manufacture) flavoured freeze dried coffee (in addition to wholebean and wholebean decaf) throughout the world. They have spent a long time developing the range of flavours and believe that they have moved the product to the ‘next level’ and created seven creamy, aromatic flavours using natural and nature identical flavours. They firmly believe that their flavours will liven up your coffee experience and introduce you to new tastes and experiences!

Beanies launched in Sainsburys Supermarket a few weeks ago in three flavours: Irish Cream, Cinder Toffee (Caramel) & Amaretto Almond. All three taste and smell delicious. I personally like to add a touch of stevia (natural sweetener) to my coffee (including these) but other coffee lovers who have tried them prefer them just the way they are! These flavoured coffees contain no added sugar and sweetener and as such are virtually calorie free. The beans are ‘infused’ with flavour, as opposed to any ingredients being added.

So, to find out more about what I think to these coffees, as well as the benefits of coffee and a super delicious iced latte recipe, keep on reading :)!

 

Beanies Coffee 4

 

  • What’s my Beanies Verdict?

I love them! These coffees are perfect for that after dinner drink or a luxury morning ‘pick me up’ and I can honestly say that they rival those from coffee shops – yet they are a fraction of the cost!

  • What are the Benefits of Drinking Coffee?

Drinking coffee has been associated with a reduced risk of developing type 2 diabetes and certain cancers, as well as Parkinson’s disease and dementia – studies have shown that regular coffee drinkers develop these conditions less frequently than those who don’t drink coffee.

Perhaps the most well known benefit of drinking caffeinated coffee though is to act as a stimulant – coffee helps you to feel more awake, and it can even boost strength and endurance when exercising. To gain the maximum benefits of coffee make sure to drink it at least 30-60 minutes before a work-out to allow for it to be absorbed.

Coffee can also help to keep you hydrated, with each cup counting towards your daily fluid intake. It is true that caffeine has a slight diuretic effect but the liquid that is drunk with it results in a positive fluid balance!

Coffee is virtually calorie free, but remember that if you’re watching your waist line either order a black coffee, with a little milk or a ‘skinny’ coffee. Most coffee shops use full-fat milk as default which means the calories and fat can soon add up. Check out my tips on how to choose a skinny coffee for more information!

  • Should you go Decaf?!

My advice is to alternate between caffeinated and decaffeinated coffee – stick to caffeinated in a morning or before a work-out and decaffeinated the rest of the time (especially before bed!). This is because too much caffeine can cause insomnia, nervousness, restlessness, irritability and stomach upset. If you think that you are drinking too much caffeine then cut down gradually, as cutting out caffeine altogether may result in a headache (withdrawal symptoms!).

If you’re pregnant you should drink no more than 200mg coffee a day, which is the equivalent of 2 cups of coffee (NB, always check the caffeine content when ordering coffee from a shop as the levels can be much greater than those found in instant coffee).

  • How can you Enjoy Coffee in the Summer?

EASY,,, have an iced coffee! Iced coffees are delicious and are super versatile. The recipe that I like to use consists of the following simply blitzed together in a blender (serves 1):

1 tsp Beanies Favoured Coffee dissolved in 1 tbsp of hot water & topped up with cold water to make 100ml

200ml Hazelnut Drink/Almond Milk

1/2 Frozen Banana

Ice to Serve

Optional: Protein powder, cocoa, cinnamon, stevia, peanut butter

110Kcal Calories, 17.6g Carbs, 1.2g Protein, 3.4g Fat (without optional ingredients)

Beanies Coffee 4

 *******************************************************************

**JULY GIVEAWAY**

To celebrate the launch of Beanies they are giving away SIX of their flavoured coffee jars. This means that you can experiment and decide on your favourite flavour before hitting the shops!

To enter this giveaway all you have to do is leave a comment below telling me:

‘What is Your Coffee Order?!’

Beanies pic

i.e. what do you order when you’re in a coffee shop! I actually order a skinny chai latte (yes not a coffee, sorry Beanies!) but I do love a vanilla latte from time to time :).

This giveaway will be open for 2 weeks meaning that it will close on the 29th of July. The winner of all 6 coffee jars  will be picked at random by a third party and will be announced at the end of the blog on the 30th of July. The winner must be from the UK due to postal reasons (sorry!)

Good luck! Nic x

beanies bean

********************************************************

July 30th Update: Thank you so much to everyone who entered this giveaway – I LOVED reading all of the entries and hope you too got some fab ideas about what to order at your next coffee shop!

So, on to the winner who is….

Beanies Giveaway

*Samples of the product mentioned were supplied to me free of charge however this review is 100% honest and of my own opinion. I was compensated in terms of money/a gift of value for the time it took me to write this blog post. I was not influenced in any way by the free samples/incentives supplied and do not promote this product more than other products that I have not reviewed. The products that I am giving away were supplied to me free of charge however I chose to do this giveaway based on the merits of the product itself (from a personal/professional point of view). I do not promote this product more than others that I am not giving away. Please read my disclaimer page for more information.

Category: Product #: Regular price:$ (Sale ends ) Available from: Condition: Good ! Order now!
Reviewed by on. Rating:
Share:

95 Comments

  1. Rachael McKelvey
    July 15, 2013 / 5:23 am

    It always a flavoured skinny latte! Until recently always a vanilla skinny latte but Im branching out & trying the flavours.

    Out coffee is always a treat, I just drink it black decaf at home & work so these sound wonderful! Our new Sainsbury has just opened up so will have to ask if they stock it.

    Thanks for a great review!

  2. Emma Buckle
    July 15, 2013 / 5:44 am

    My order is a small soya latte, unless its close to Christmas and I ask them to make it a gingerbread latte!

  3. Mrs Romana Hussain
    July 15, 2013 / 6:11 am

    I usually order a skinny coffee or as a treat a skinny vanilla late.

  4. Laura Samuel
    July 15, 2013 / 7:35 am

    Skinny decaf cappuccino 😀

  5. Hayley
    July 15, 2013 / 7:57 am

    Winter = americano yum!

    Summer = iced coffee unsweetened 🙂

    Yummmm or the iced orange spiced coffee

  6. Carina De Freitas
    July 15, 2013 / 8:06 am

    These sound divine!!! In summer I’ll order a skinny iced vanilla latte and in winter a skinny cappuccino 🙂

  7. Sophie
    July 15, 2013 / 8:10 am

    Iced Americano in summer and bog standard Americano any other time of year 🙂

  8. Charlotte Hagan
    July 15, 2013 / 8:14 am

    If it’s cold I’ll order Americano because I’ve gone off milk, now it’s so hot I want an iced coffee without the milk or the added sugar/calories in the frappe so I’ll order a double espresso and glass of ice and water – mix them together and get instantly refreshing iced coffee drink on the go without the guilt 🙂

  9. Lauren George
    July 15, 2013 / 9:11 am

    My order is usually a skinny vanilla Latte!x

  10. Ema G
    July 15, 2013 / 9:17 am

    Medium, soy milk caramel macchiato, extra hot, dry and sugar free syrup
    I’m a right pain for baristas!

  11. Sarah
    July 15, 2013 / 9:25 am

    I would absolutely love to try these beans, I recently tried a friends Amaretto flavoured coffee and loved it these flavours sound wonderful!
    I generally order a small skim / or soy Capp but swap the chocolate for a sprinkle of cinnamon 🙂
    Delicious and healthy 🙂 xx

  12. July 15, 2013 / 10:06 am

    In winter you can’t beat the gorgeous, albeit calorific toffee nut latte that many coffee houses offer! In summer, a filter coffee over ice with a dash of alpro almond milk is divine. Mmm, coffee!

  13. Sarah Mason
    July 15, 2013 / 10:13 am

    My order is always black filter coffee, the last quarter of the cup topped up with cold water! I usually get strange looks in coffee shops 😀

  14. July 15, 2013 / 10:23 am

    I have two faves, if I need caffeine it is a skinny sugar free vanilla latte, if I need something a bit warming then it’s a skinny chai tea latte. At home I have vanilla coffee and hazelnut coffee.

  15. Victoria
    July 15, 2013 / 10:28 am

    Hot choc with skimmed milk or skinny chai latte 🙂

  16. Linda
    July 15, 2013 / 10:41 am

    Nearly always a Gingerbread Skinny Latte. Delicious.

  17. July 15, 2013 / 11:01 am

    2 options: my ‘normal’ daily choice is a decaf skim ammericano. Coffee hit, low calorie. when i want to treat myself its a decaf, skinny, sugar free caramal latte!! yum!!

  18. Saskia Thomas
    July 15, 2013 / 2:52 pm

    Always a long black , strong as you like 🙂

  19. Shegufta
    July 15, 2013 / 3:19 pm

    I love to get an Iced Soya mocha with unsweetened hazelnut syrup!! It’s delish!!!

  20. Sandra Hodgson
    July 15, 2013 / 4:06 pm

    I only order flavoured black coffee as it tastes so much nicer & you get the real flavour & richness of the coffee.

  21. Kate
    July 15, 2013 / 5:08 pm

    Usually keep it simple and go for a straight americano

  22. clare lennox
    July 15, 2013 / 5:21 pm

    I usually get a tall skinny latte and a wee ginger biscuit….oopsie!

  23. Nicole kane
    July 15, 2013 / 5:28 pm

    I love a mocha with caramel syrup!! Yummy! But as its so hot I have a mocha cooler iced coffee, tastes lovely but very high in calories!!! Your recipe above sounds awesome so will def be trying your much healthier iced coffee recipe! Would love to win this great prize! I’d be sorted for the summer!!

  24. July 15, 2013 / 5:36 pm

    I often order a half shot americano with soy milk! And…… sometimes go for a skinny Chai Latte 🙂

  25. Cindy Paschalis
    July 15, 2013 / 5:39 pm

    Love the sound of these flavoured coffees and would really like to try them 🙂
    In this hot weather i`ve been enjoying ice cold frappuccinos

  26. clare wright
    July 15, 2013 / 5:41 pm

    Skinny latte with extra espresso shot 🙂

  27. Rachael Alfonso
    July 15, 2013 / 5:53 pm

    Skinny gingerbread latte. Yum yum!

  28. fiona sellwood
    July 15, 2013 / 5:53 pm

    A latte…the bigger the better..and then when the sleigh bells start to jingle my favourite drink ever is a gingerbread latte 🙂

  29. Jodi Boyd
    July 15, 2013 / 5:57 pm

    Ooo mine used to be a hazelnut mocha from a well known coffee shop….until I switched and went dairy free. I just have plain old coffee and almond milk now….would LOVE something to put the ‘ee’ back in my coffee!!!

  30. Notnicnoc
    July 15, 2013 / 6:32 pm

    If I’m having a treat I’ll have a caramel macchiato. Usually just a good old LARGE cappuccino! 🙂

  31. marie
    July 15, 2013 / 6:32 pm

    Amaretto almond to match the almond challenge!!

  32. Heather Baxter
    July 15, 2013 / 6:43 pm

    Tall extra shot caramel latte………..yumm!!!! 😀

    • Nics Nutrition
      July 30, 2013 / 8:21 pm

      Congratulations! You’re the winner! Please send me your address and I’ll have your coffees shipped over! Thanks for entering 🙂

  33. Sarah Hamilton (@SazzyMCH)
    July 15, 2013 / 7:13 pm

    Depends on the time of year and where I am……….! Seasonally – Pumpkin Spice or Gingerbread Latte (skimmed milk with cream!) Rest of the time skinny vanilla latte, or like you, skinny chai 🙂

  34. Charlie
    July 15, 2013 / 7:17 pm

    Coconut iced coffee….amazing!!

  35. Isobelle Keith
    July 15, 2013 / 7:45 pm

    A medium decaf Americana with milk and a shot of hazelnut syrup

  36. Sarah Jane
    July 15, 2013 / 9:09 pm

    Skinny latte please with sugar free vanilla syrup!

  37. Jess
    July 15, 2013 / 11:01 pm

    I really love my coffee – strong, sweet and milky in the mornings – instant or filter. If I’m out and about then Americano for caffeine or something spicy for a treat, like a Gingerbread Latte (with extra espresso!). At the moment I’m making my own iced mochas at home as they are soooo refreshing! And in the winter, I might have an evening decaff with a splash of Amaretto if I’m feeling naughty! 😀

  38. July 16, 2013 / 11:48 am

    I love a soy milk hazelnut latte, but if I’m in Starbucks will treat myself to a caramel macchiato as its only 100kcal with non-fat milk! Yum! These flavours sound amazing – cinder toffee is one of my all time favourite treats! Looking forward to seeing Beanies in the shops.

  39. Jennifer Tolton
    July 16, 2013 / 3:16 pm

    I don’t drink coffee I have cold fruity iced drinks. But my boyfriend loves coffee and I love him so I’m entering on his behalf 🙂

  40. Talisa
    July 16, 2013 / 8:35 pm

    Love the sound of these flavoured coffees!! 🙂 My signature order is a ‘Skinny Cappuccino’, until Christmas arrives – then I switch to a Skinny Gingerbread Latte, so festive! 🙂 xx

  41. July 18, 2013 / 3:34 pm

    In the winter it’s a skinny, single-shot hazelnut latte but in the summer I love an ice cold mocha frappuccino made with skinny milk and a little whipped cream on the top 😉

  42. Kelly Parnell
    July 18, 2013 / 3:37 pm

    Those flavours sound amazing 🙂 I love a vanilla latte as a treat xx

  43. July 18, 2013 / 4:35 pm

    I usually order either a Hazelnut, Vanilla or Caramel Latte, depending on what sort of a mood i’m in. I have only recently come across Beanies flavoured coffee and all i can say is WOW, can’t wait to stock up Mmmmmm 🙂 xx

  44. Jess martin
    July 18, 2013 / 9:20 pm

    My usual order is normally an americano with non fat milk and if i fancy it a bit sweeter – a shot of sugar free hazlenut syrup, yum!

  45. Rhian
    July 19, 2013 / 5:27 am

    Definitely a soy latte!

  46. July 19, 2013 / 5:55 am

    A double espresso – if I trust the look of the coffee shop.
    I prefer it like tar, but if its just really dark & really strong then I’m happy

  47. Neal
    July 19, 2013 / 6:12 am

    Americano everytime for me, however only occasionally I will have a latte for a treat.

  48. Sharon Cunningham
    July 19, 2013 / 6:17 am

    I order a skinny latte, sometimes a vanilla or hazelnut one! Yum!

  49. kate andrews
    July 19, 2013 / 6:27 am

    A large gingerbread latte for my husband and a medium soy black forest hot chocolate for me. of it’s too hot for coffee then a mocha frappacino for him and a green tea frappacino for me

  50. Joanna Sadler
    July 19, 2013 / 6:27 am

    I find plain coffee too bitter for me, so I always go for a skinny vanilla latte (iced in summer). Occasionally I’ll be adventurous and switch to caramel!

  51. Laura
    July 19, 2013 / 6:44 am

    Definitely an americano extra shot with a dash of milk and lots of skinny foam 🙂

  52. Richard
    July 19, 2013 / 6:59 am

    I’m not a big fan of coffee, so I would usually have a hot chocolate, mint tea or a cold drink, fruit smoothie.

  53. Kayleigh
    July 19, 2013 / 7:06 am

    Decaf skinny caramel latte. Or a gingerbread one near Christmas.
    Need to start introducing caffeine back into my day.

  54. Rebecca
    July 19, 2013 / 7:24 am

    Mine is definately a skinny Vanilla latte, my friday morning treat 🙂

  55. Amanda
    July 19, 2013 / 7:35 am

    Ooo would love to try the vanilla, bet its really refreshing.
    Cannot beat an Americano though!

  56. Andrea
    July 19, 2013 / 7:46 am

    Mint cortado all the way!

  57. Raina
    July 19, 2013 / 8:58 am

    Im a straight and easy Americano but it has to be HOT!!
    Recently tried iced latte and have to say it was yummy 🙂

  58. Laura
    July 19, 2013 / 10:28 am

    An extra hot skinny vanilla soy latte it my total favourite and an utter shameless addiction 🙂

  59. Ria Jenkins
    July 19, 2013 / 10:34 am

    Im the same as you, always a chai latte!

  60. Cara Howarth
    July 19, 2013 / 11:29 am

    My orders always a skinny vanilla latte! Cant go wrong!x

  61. Karen Daly
    July 19, 2013 / 10:34 pm

    Has to be a chocochino or skinny latter with a drop of sugarfree vanilla or hazelnut lush 🙂

  62. Hazel
    July 20, 2013 / 11:12 am

    I have a variety of things I order as I am slightly obsessed with Starbucks! At the moment it’s their new iced shaked doubleshot!

  63. July 20, 2013 / 8:53 pm

    I adore coffee and used to always drink my coffees black, however this year I’ve been loving soy cappuccinos 😀

  64. Helen G
    July 21, 2013 / 11:30 am

    Iced Double Shot Mocha Latte. 🙂

  65. Lauren Bird
    July 22, 2013 / 2:23 pm

    In Winter I like a small skinny latte with any sugar free shot they have (usually vanilla or hazlenut), then in the Summer it’s the same but iced! 🙂

  66. July 23, 2013 / 9:49 pm

    Soy latte 🙂

  67. Amie
    July 26, 2013 / 5:50 am

    My absolute fave is a skinny gingerbread latte with nutmeg on top…yum

  68. Emma Sturgess
    July 26, 2013 / 7:48 am

    Americano black!!!

  69. Marc Hemingway
    July 28, 2013 / 11:42 am

    Always has to be a mocha with hazelnut syrup and an extra shot of coffee.

  70. July 28, 2013 / 11:43 am

    I’m a plain Jane and simply order a cappucino. It’s one of the only drinks in Starbucks to have under 100 calories! Well, apart from the regular filter coffee of course.

  71. Malcolm Bertram
    July 28, 2013 / 11:54 am

    Americano or chai latte for me….an occasional mocha whilst out on the bike too though 😉

  72. Jennifer Graham
    July 28, 2013 / 12:20 pm

    black americano, or a latte with soya milk if I want a treat 🙂

  73. paul williams
    July 28, 2013 / 12:27 pm

    Double espresso with a splash of hot milk

  74. Emma
    July 28, 2013 / 12:35 pm

    Favourite coffee at mo has to be frappuchino

  75. Rebecca Nixon
    July 28, 2013 / 12:46 pm

    Has to be a large Mocha I’m afraid, or a green tea depending on my mood ☕

  76. Jade
    July 28, 2013 / 1:05 pm

    A skinny cappuccino topped with ginger and cinnamon sprinkles. Sometimes I have some vanilla syrup added to 🙂 yum!

  77. Paula Bell
    July 28, 2013 / 1:17 pm

    A skinny frappe in the summer and a skinny hazelnut hot chocolate in the winter xx

  78. Gemma read
    July 28, 2013 / 2:49 pm

    Extra hot single shot skinny latte with caramel or sugar free hazelnut

  79. Lauren Maccuish
    July 28, 2013 / 3:04 pm

    Skinny caramel american… Hot or iced!

  80. Georgina Walker
    July 28, 2013 / 3:52 pm

    Why go out for coffee when you can stay at home and have excellent coffee like Beanies

  81. Claire Gillies
    July 28, 2013 / 7:02 pm

    macchiato with a shot of vanilla syrup – would love to try a flavoured coffee to try to wean myself off the sugary stuff tho 🙂

  82. Michael Robbins
    July 28, 2013 / 7:46 pm

    Orange mocha frappuccino

  83. Jonny
    July 28, 2013 / 7:55 pm

    Straight up black coffee.

  84. Laura
    July 28, 2013 / 9:41 pm

    unsweetened soy capucino yumm yumm 🙂

  85. July 29, 2013 / 12:06 pm

    A small sugar free hazelnut latte with soya milk 🙂

  86. Ruth
    July 29, 2013 / 12:09 pm

    On the rare occasion I treat myself to a coffee I always go for a caramel latte. Sweet, strong & the perfect treat!
    These sound great 🙂

  87. Kate
    July 29, 2013 / 12:10 pm

    I always order a skinny latte or if I’m feeling naughty a regular flavoured latte! I alternate between flavours but my favourite is probably vanilla or caramel! 🙂

  88. July 29, 2013 / 12:15 pm

    Actually, I always order a chai latte! But I do like to have a Mint Frappe now and again

  89. Connie
    July 29, 2013 / 12:29 pm

    Hazelnut Americano (or if I’m having a naughty dairy day then a latte with brown sugar!) Always want to try new flavours but worried if I don’t like it I’ll have wasted a perfectly good coffee!

  90. Kassy Doherty
    April 28, 2014 / 6:50 pm

    It’s always an amaretto coffee with cream for me . Can’t beat it.x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


8 − = two