Walden Farms Calorie Free Syrup Review

Walden Farms Calorie Free Syrup Review

The other month, Predator Nutrition opened their flagship store at The Light in Leeds and I couldn’t wait to see what ‘goodies’ they had! From Quest Bars (LOVE them.. check out my review HERE!) to Brazil Nut Butter, they have it.. America eat your heart out (they always have the best health foods.. in my opinion!!).

Anyway, on the subject of ‘American foods’, the product that I was most interested in was their Calorie Free Syrup from Walden Farms. Predator Nutrition kindly sent me the Pancake Syrup and Strawberry Syrup to try and I couldn’t wait to blog about them – just because I have never heard of calorie free syrups before!

Calorie Free Syrup

The syrups in question contain zero calories, which means an average saving of 220 calories per serving compared to regular pancake syrup! The range has no carbs, sugars, gluten or fat and so in my opinion, is perfect if you are trying to lose weight/maintain a healthy weight and still add a little sweetness into your diet! I have a sweet tooth, and found that these hit the spot, without rotting my teeth or giving me a sugar rush (!).

How are the syrups calorie free you ask?! Well, the ingredients of the pancake syrup are: Triple Filtered Purified Water,Maple Flavour, Natural Flavors, Cellulose Gum (Thickener), Salt, Sucralose (Sweetener), Lactic Acid (Preservative), Sodium Benzoate (Preservative).

How can you use the calorie-free syrups?

I personally like the syrups:

  • Drizzled on pancakes (naturally!)
  • Poured over Greek yoghurt with berries & granola (SO good!!)
  • Over chopped fruit.
  • On ice-cream (naughty!) – everything is allowed in the 80/20 rule 😉
  • In baking instead of maple syrup or honey – check out my peanut butter cookies for inspiration!

healthy peanut butter cookies

Where can you buy the syrups?

You can get Walden Farms Calorie Free Syrups from Predator Nutrition or Amazon and I cannot wait to try their other flavours and products which, as well as the syrups, include calorie free:

  • Salad Dressings
  • BBQ Sauce
  • Fruit Dips
  • Chocolate Peanut Spread (I NEED TO TRY THIS!!)
  • Seafood Sauce
  • Ketchup
  • Mayonnaise
  • Mustard
  • Crisp/Nacho Dips
  • Pasta Sauce

Walden Farms Dressings

I cannot tell you about how excited I am about this discovery, do let me know your thoughts!

 

*Samples of the product mentioned were supplied to me free of charge however this review is 100% honest and of my own opinion. I was not influenced in any way by the free samples and do not promote this product more than other products that I have not reviewed. This blog post contains affiliate links. Please read my disclaimer page for more information.

Share:

19 Comments

  1. January 12, 2014 / 4:55 pm

    The pancake syrup is amazing! Tasty used in place of maple syrup and tastes similar 🙂

  2. January 12, 2014 / 4:56 pm

    I try to steer clear of artificial sweeteners usually but I’d quite like to try this because I literally DRENCH stuff in Agave LOL!

    • January 12, 2014 / 5:17 pm

      Hehe yes me too!! It’s sweeter than agave too, so you don’t need a lot 🙂 x let me know!

  3. Elkie Chiu
    January 12, 2014 / 5:46 pm

    I have tried most of the Walden farms syrup and spread ranges, I like the pancake syrup and chocolate syrup is not bad. The BBQ sauce is quite good too ! But the whipped peanut butter spread and chocolate peanut spread I would stay away from, the texture is more like a jelly and the taste is not very nice imo. It is really artificial tasting and taste nothing like what you imagine a peanut spread or chocolate peanut spread would taste like!! I would go for the powdered peanut butter if you are looking to save calories!

    • January 12, 2014 / 6:56 pm

      Omg thank you so much Elkie!! You’ve saved my taste buds!! I’ll stick with my PPB then 🙂 x

  4. January 17, 2014 / 9:08 am

    Hi Nics,
    After reading your review I went to amazon and ordered the Syrup as well as Caesar dressing so will let you know how that taste. I’ve recently bought Vanilla syrup in TK max (1L for £3) – it’s sugar & carb free too – the same ingredients as this. I will take a pic of it and put in on Instagram so you can check it out if you like.
    Thanks 🙂

    • January 17, 2014 / 6:11 pm

      Amazing!! Thank you, can’t wait to hear your thoughts! x

  5. Holly
    January 18, 2014 / 4:08 pm

    OMG all I can say is SHUT UP!! I was going to look for some this weekend (watched a Tone It Up Pancake video last night and thought I neeeeeeeeeeed syrup) THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU XXXX

    • January 19, 2014 / 6:19 pm

      HAHAHAHA, so glad to be of help 😀 hahaha!! xx

  6. February 7, 2014 / 9:08 am

    Okay so the Pancake syrup is really tasty but when I tried their Caesar dressing it wasn’t that tasty at all – don’t like it at all and wouldn’t recommend buying it. I would rather make my own from home made mayo.

  7. Lil swizzle
    April 5, 2014 / 6:41 am

    Hi Nic. After reading your reviews about walden farm stuff, I sent off for the chocolate dip thinking it could take the place of Nutella ( which I can eat by the bowlful mixed with crunched up ryvitas). I’ve just tried it and am very disappointed with the taste & wouldn’t eat it this way again. So now I’m left with a virtually full jar of choc dip. My question to you is: any idea how I can use it so it doesn’t taste as bad? Would it taste better if I baked something with it? … Any ideas what I can bake with it? I don’t like waste so it would be a shame to bin it…. Over to you for the challenge! Thanks 🙂

    • April 5, 2014 / 7:33 am

      Hello! Aw Lil I’m so sorry to hear that! I haven’t personally tried that one yet.. I’m on their fruit spread at the moment! Humm… what about Googling ‘Nutella recipes’ and using the spread instead of nutella?! Then you would have healthier snacks instantly!! Or could you try it in porridge or in a PB and banana smoothie? Do let me know! xx

  8. Ali Richards
    December 21, 2015 / 1:29 pm

    I love the Waldens caramel syrup with Fage 0% greek yogurt, it’s lush. I do the same with the strawberry syrup too. I do eat a lot of it in fact, to keep up my protein intake as I don’t like the Fage on its own. Is it safe to eat every day? One of the Facebook groups I’m a member of don’t seem to rate it, say it’s full of chemicals, but if you rate it then it must be OK? Or is it one of those things that should be eaten in small doses? I just read your Quark review too so will try that as an alternative to the Fage! Thanks, Ali

    • December 22, 2015 / 7:04 pm

      Hi Ali! I don’t see a problem is using it on your yoghurt daily – it beats sugary syrups any day I tell you!! Quark is great with flavourings but not alone.. hehe!! xx

      • Ali Richards
        December 22, 2015 / 8:47 pm

        Thanks!

        Tesco do a strawberry Quark so have ordered some in my online shop, can’t try it! x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


4 − two =

For healthy recipes & nutrition tips join the Nic's Nutrition newsletter below!