Orzo Caffeine-Free Coffee – Product Review & Giveaway

Orzo Caffeine-Free Coffee – Product Review & Giveaway

Keep Calm & Drink Orzo is what they say… but is it true?! Well, I think so!

I hadn’t heard of Orzo until they followed me on twitter and I have to admit that I was rather ‘hesistent’ at first about trying their product “Organic Instant Soluble Barley”, ‘Italy’s favourite alternative to coffee’.. but I needn’t have been!! After I’d tasted it I instantly loved it and poured myself another cup.. *yum*.

So, if you’re trying to cut down on your caffeine intake, or if you just want a new healthy hot (or cold!) drink to enjoy, then carry on reading to find out about this fantastic new caffeine free ‘coffee’!

First though, let’s get some facts on Caffeine:

For the majority of healthy adults, caffeine in moderation (about 4 cups of coffee or 8 cups of tea a day) isn’t harmful. Drinking too much caffeine though can cause insomnia, increased heart rate, stomach upset, restlessness and irritability. If you can relate to these symptoms then you may want to gradually cut down on your caffeine intake (don’t cut it all out at once as you may experience withdrawal symptoms!). All coffee though, whether it is decaf or not, counts towards your fluid intake and helps to keep you hydrated.

So how does Orzo fit in?!

I recommend alternating between caffeinated and non-caffeinated drinks, and Orzo Coffee is an ideal (and tasty!) non-caffeinated drink! Orzo (Italian for barley) is 100% organic instant soluble Italian barley and can be enjoyed by both adults and children.. it is:

  • 100% naturally Caffeine-Free
  • Vegetarian & Vegan friendly
  • Dairy, Lactose & Yeast Free

f0983c6b7f36974a8ddaf8329af7691e

And this is how I personally like to drink my Orzo Coffee…

  1. Mix 2 level teaspoons of Orzo in a mug with 1 tsp of stevia (natural sweetener)
  2. Add freshly boiled water
  3. Top with skimmed milk, hazel nut, almond or soya milk and stir well

You can also make this coffee completely with milk for a latte which will provide more protein and calcium too (& you can also enjoy Orzo as an iced latte – scroll down!).

0CE870D7-E666-4DF9-8180-258D8ACA9A5F

********************************************

**Summer GIVEAWAY!**

To celebrate summer, the lovely people at Orzo are offering one of my readers the chance to win this amazing hamper (details below), perfect for creating iced coffees.. and I’ve even created my very own sugar-free (& caffeine-free if you use Orzo) Skinny Iced Mocha Recipe which is DELICIOUS, to mark the occasion!

DSCN0253[1]

The Orzo Summer Hamper contains:

♥ One Stainless Steel Shaker – to mix your iced coffees in!

♥ Green Silicon Ice-cube Tray – to jazz up your ice-cubes!

♥ One Bag of Pronto (Organic Instant Soluble Barley)

♥ An Orzo Coffee Eco-friendly Jute Bag

♥ A ‘Keep Calm and Drink Orzo’ bookmark

♥ An Orzo Coffee Food Clip to keep your Orzo Coffee fresh

*******************************

To be in with a chance of winning all you have to do is comment telling me:

“Where or when (or both!) do you like to enjoy your coffee?”

I personally like to enjoy an iced mocha after work (as a lil pick me up) or on an evening whilst blogging 🙂

Iced Mocha

This giveaway will be open from Wednesday 7th August 2013 to UK residents (sorry!) for two weeks and will close on Thursday 22nd August 2013 at 8pm. The winner will be picked at random by a third party.

The lucky winner will be announced the evening after the giveaway closes, at the end of this blog post and on Facebook & Twitter!

Good luck!!

**************************************************************

**WINNER UPDATE** – Thank you so much to everyone who entered this giveaway – I have LOVED reading all of the entries, and I wish I could pick more than one winner… who is.. *drum roll*

winner

*Samples of the product mentioned were supplied to me free of charge however this review is 100% honest and of my own opinion. I was not influenced in any way by the free samples supplied and do not promote this product more than other products that I have not reviewed. The products that I am giving away were supplied to me free of charge however I chose to do this giveaway based on the merits of the product itself (from a personal/professional point of view). I do not promote this product more than others that I am not giving away. Please read my disclaimer page for more information.

Category: Product #: Regular price:$ (Sale ends ) Available from: Condition: Good ! Order now!
Reviewed by on. Rating:
Share:

101 Comments

  1. Andrea Curran
    August 7, 2013 / 8:54 pm

    Live a coffee after the gym…having a gossip & chilling with friends

    • Kara
      August 8, 2013 / 1:42 pm

      I like my coffee first thing in the morning, in bed lovingly made by my hubby! It’s my rocket fuel to kick start the day and my morning workout!

  2. Carl Mynott
    August 7, 2013 / 8:58 pm

    My favourite coffee is winding down from work watching the kids playing after dinner.

    Fabulous!

  3. Andy
    August 7, 2013 / 8:59 pm

    Love a coffee on a really cold day sitting infront of the tv after work. 🙂

  4. Nicole kane
    August 7, 2013 / 9:05 pm

    I always have to have a coffee in the morning to get me going or I just don’t feel ready for the day! But like you I have to say my absolute favourite is an iced mocha at any time of the day anywhere!! Lol

    • August 22, 2013 / 7:54 pm

      CONGRATULATIONS!!! You were picked as the winner of this giveaway 🙂 I’ll email you now so you can make your iced mochas whilst the weather is still nice 🙂 Well done! xx

  5. Emma Robinson
    August 7, 2013 / 9:05 pm

    I like a nice iced coffee with vanilla extract sat in the garden sunbathing – perfect x

  6. Sarah Hamilton
    August 7, 2013 / 9:05 pm

    I’ve started to have a coffee pre workout to give me a boost! Also, anytime a friend invites me out for a coffee is a good time 😉

  7. Charlotte Barlow
    August 7, 2013 / 9:21 pm

    I love an iced coffee in summer when I get to relax in the garden and a regular hot coffee before college or I can’t keep my eyes open in my first lesson!

  8. Sarah Jane
    August 7, 2013 / 9:27 pm

    Mid morning coffee (either hot or iced) with a banana, perfect for that elevensy snack! Plus it’s a perfect energy boost and pick me up prior to lunch!

  9. Rhian
    August 7, 2013 / 10:00 pm

    At work over a catch up with the team 🙂

  10. Liza Salt
    August 7, 2013 / 10:00 pm

    I love having coffee under my favourite tree on The Common – I relax and watch the dog run around barmey while he waits for me to finish…. Rather in impatiently! Xx

  11. Sinead
    August 7, 2013 / 11:04 pm

    love a coffee with my friends! anywhere anytime!

  12. Chris Potter
    August 8, 2013 / 6:25 am

    Before work to make sure am focused and ready!

  13. gillian dodds
    August 8, 2013 / 6:55 am

    I love a coffee first thing on a morning after being up for two hours at a time with my little boy through the night, every night, I need it!!! X

  14. jade taylor
    August 8, 2013 / 6:57 am

    I love a( decaf) coffee when I have sugar cravings!

  15. clare wright
    August 8, 2013 / 7:14 am

    You can’t beat a nice hot latte (or2!) with a friend you haven’t seen for ages

  16. Laura Samuel
    August 8, 2013 / 7:22 am

    Love a skinny cappuccino to perk me up during a mid-afternoon slump!

  17. Laura Samuel
    August 8, 2013 / 7:22 am

    Love a skinny cappuccino to perk me up during mid-afternoon slump!

  18. Jonathan Langridge
    August 8, 2013 / 7:51 am

    Whenever the mood takes me but especially after a thrashing at British Military Fitness.
    A double shot to waken the senses and set me up for the rest of the day, you can’t whack it

  19. leigh
    August 8, 2013 / 8:08 am

    I need my caffeine fix first thing in the morning to wake up, i take it black normally, extra strong, sometimes with a splash of milk though. i do have lots of travel mugs to take mine with me on my bike/walking my dogs/to the gym, coffee addict here lol

  20. Isobelle Keith
    August 8, 2013 / 8:18 am

    Before a run to give me some extra oomph 🙂

  21. Leah
    August 8, 2013 / 8:49 am

    Skinny gingerbread latte at Christmas time!
    Or skinny iced latte on my lunch break in the sunshine ☀

  22. Rebecca messenger
    August 8, 2013 / 9:04 am

    Nothing beats an iced latte in the summertime xx

  23. Jen Budden
    August 8, 2013 / 9:24 am

    I love an iced skinny mocha in the mornings. Turning that into a hot coffee for the winter!!!!
    Love your website nic!
    Such a great help!
    X

    • Nics Nutrition
      August 8, 2013 / 11:17 am

      Aw thank you Jen!

  24. Sarah Mason
    August 8, 2013 / 9:26 am

    First thing in the morning is my fav, when its quiet sat in the garden 🙂

  25. Jacqueline murray
    August 8, 2013 / 9:44 am

    Love a coffee before the gym, double expresso topped with ice ,coconut water and frothed almond milk! Delicious!! Ideal hydrating pick me up to get me through my work out!

  26. Jenni Fogg
    August 8, 2013 / 10:44 am

    After the gym/swim before I start my day. I love the boost from the caffeine and cocoa satisfies my sweet tooth. Plus, works out cheaper than buying one every day and healthier too!

  27. Kate
    August 8, 2013 / 10:44 am

    First thing in the morning a cup of coffee literally is my life saver. It gives me a little pick me up! I also enjoy drinking coffee out of a flask, wrapping up and going on a nice long walk and then taking a break to look at the view and have a coffee. Perfect 🙂

  28. August 8, 2013 / 10:50 am

    I love a Black coffee or with coconut oil about an hour after waking up, needs to be high quality.

    Hot days you can’t beat an iced coffee and some textbooks or reading in the sun.

  29. Emma
    August 8, 2013 / 10:58 am

    Has to be Saturday morning, sat around the kitchen table chilling out and reading the papers!

  30. Laura
    August 8, 2013 / 11:02 am

    My favourite time to have a coffee is in the winter after a busy day when I’ve worked out at the gym, rushed around to do my Christmas shopping, and I can finally settle down and warm up with a piping hot milky latte on the sofa…bliss!

  31. August 8, 2013 / 12:43 pm

    I love and need a coffee first thing in the morning after a sleepless night with the kids and before a l go for the morning run with the dog! Huskies just keep going, good for me though.

  32. Sarah
    August 8, 2013 / 1:57 pm

    I like mine in the morning to help wake me up. Plus another in the afternoon in the office to help wake me up after looking at figures on the pc all morning! xx

  33. Rowena Griffiths
    August 8, 2013 / 2:05 pm

    I like a coffee whilst camping, kids asleep inside, me and hubby outside – wrapped up, in the dark….. With Baileys instead of milk!

  34. Kate
    August 8, 2013 / 6:15 pm

    You just can’t beat that first coffee of the day! Good kick up the behind to get you going! Cold when it’s hot and hot when you have the chills!

  35. Robert Baxter
    August 8, 2013 / 6:21 pm

    I work offshore in the North Sea and the best cup of coffee of the day has to be on nightshift, 3am teabreak watching the sun come up over the horizon with a fresh cup

  36. Vicky Thorpe
    August 8, 2013 / 6:23 pm

    I like to enjoy my coffee first thing in the morning before anyone else gets up and the mayhem starts

  37. August 9, 2013 / 6:36 am

    My favourite time for a coffee is Saturday morning before I start my chores. Gets me off to a great start!
    1 tsp coffee, a small amount of hot water topped up with lots of warmed soya milk to make a Soya Latte.

  38. Richard Olivier
    August 9, 2013 / 6:52 am

    Manor Organic Farm, in Long Whatton, they have a new tea room, it’s the perfect place to enjoy a nice drink and coconut slice, any time of the day.

  39. August 9, 2013 / 10:38 am

    I like to enjoy an iced coffee after a workout and when my 9 month old is having a nap, it’s a nice little treat for myself to say well done for getting a workout in with my busy mummy duties! haha! Great giveaway 🙂 I’d LOVE to win this! *fingers crossed*

    Kerry X

  40. Raina Dickinson
    August 9, 2013 / 8:26 pm

    I love my Lazy saturday morning coffee from my special mug and gotta love the 3pm work day boost with a healthy snack. But the best coffee of all is the coffee that you have with friends x

  41. John
    August 9, 2013 / 8:53 pm

    I love coffee full stop at any time! But an iced coffee for a long car journey or on a hot afternoon is something I love, especially with good company! Even better when I mix some vanilla protein powder! I’d love to try the caffeine free alternative. Love to try all things new in general, especially coffee Mmm. Love your Twitter posts!

    Thanks, John.

    • Nics Nutrition
      August 9, 2013 / 9:12 pm

      Thanks John! Great entry 🙂 Nic

  42. Chloe
    August 9, 2013 / 9:53 pm

    I like my coffee first thing for a pre workout boost! X

  43. August 10, 2013 / 6:23 am

    I love to drink my coffee in my favourite Italian cafe soaking up the ambience, but I only drink decaf now as I cannot tolerate caffeine unless it is a home-made iced latte. And on that note I adore drinking my home-made iced latte in the garden on a hot summers day with a good book.

  44. I love my coffee after a very good workout and relax before my duty off being a mummy again to a 8 year old and 20 month after she still wakes me at 5am I'd live to win this xx
    August 10, 2013 / 8:10 pm

    ho

  45. Hollie
    August 10, 2013 / 8:14 pm

    hope I get the chance to try this out … I love my coffee after a very good workout and relax before my duty off being a mummy again to a 8 year old and 20 month after she still wakes me at 5am I’d live to win this xx

  46. fiona sellwood
    August 10, 2013 / 8:46 pm

    A coffee to start off my day….the calm before the storm 🙂

  47. Paul
    August 10, 2013 / 8:48 pm

    Either in the car on the way to work, at work or as a pre-workout… Maybe some de-caf Orzo is required after reading that sentence back!!

  48. Louise
    August 11, 2013 / 8:35 am

    I love to get away from the office at lunchtime and occasionally treat myself to a posh coffee, this kit would mean I could make a posh coffee for myself 🙂
    Love your website Nic

  49. Kayleigh
    August 12, 2013 / 9:50 am

    I love a coffee chilling in my garden / living room (depending on weather) with my kindle after a long run.

    Or in a small cafe catching up with friends! x

  50. Amy Woodward
    August 12, 2013 / 10:00 am

    There really is no better mid-morning break than a super strong espresso with coconut milk, sat in the sunshine soaking up the rays to remind myself how lucky I am to be healthy, fit and happy!!

  51. August 12, 2013 / 10:46 am

    I LOVE a morning coffee, when on the boat to work, chilled in the summer, hot hot hot in the winter <3 #Coffeelove! currently trying out some new food and drink recipes, so cant wait to give this Mocha little number a go!x

  52. Danielle Kinsey
    August 12, 2013 / 12:55 pm

    I love an iced latte made in my new blender on my days off at around 2 pm after doing my house work as a mid day treat 🙂

  53. August 12, 2013 / 4:08 pm

    First thing within the first hour of waking up to get my day heading in the right direction I have a cup of black coffee with breakfast

  54. sarah avery
    August 12, 2013 / 8:21 pm

    Part of my morning ritual – mocha followed by a big hearty bowl of porridge! 🙂

  55. Karen Daly
    August 13, 2013 / 11:07 pm

    At the aiport when flying to see my boyfriend every 2 weeks as we did long distance for 2 yrs now we live together and he makes me a lovely skinny latte or iced mocha 🙂

  56. August 14, 2013 / 11:03 am

    I love drinking soy mocha lattes for a mid-morning pick-me-up! 🙂

  57. Nicole Butterworth
    August 14, 2013 / 7:28 pm

    On my occasional 7am starts at work I enjoy a half caffeinated coffee! With stevia & unsweetened almond milk, sat in the dining room with French doors open. The bird tweets & cool breeze fly in, to begin the day! 🙂

  58. melanie stirling
    August 14, 2013 / 11:03 pm

    All day,every day,I drink a lot of coffee and I even have a cup before I go to bed.

  59. Paula Bell
    August 15, 2013 / 12:25 am

    I love a coffee on a night shift to keep me going through the early hours or out in the garden watching the little man play

  60. Katherine De Riera
    August 16, 2013 / 5:32 am

    My favourite cup of coffee is the first one of the day to wake me up in the morning!

  61. RhiannOn
    August 16, 2013 / 5:42 am

    Coffee with friends at the weekend having a good gossip and a catchup, recent discovery that I love iced coffee means this is what I always get now!!

  62. Emma Sturgess
    August 16, 2013 / 5:44 am

    Just live the first cup of the day on the way to work contemplating what the day will bring! As an early riser on holidays I also love the morning coffee sat on the balcony feeling the heat waiting for everyone else to get up xxx

  63. Ashley
    August 16, 2013 / 6:55 am

    I love the fact that the aroma of the coffee cover up all those sickly medicine taste and give me the strength to fight my illness. I mostly enjoyed my coffees at the hospital with my lovely husband ^_* My dream is to open up my own cafe, seeing all those people coming from different city to drink my own made coffees and seeing them enjoyed as well as i do is my best fulfilment.

  64. Hayley Wyatt
    August 16, 2013 / 7:36 am

    I like my coffee either first thing in the morning to perk me up for the rest of the day or

    A decaf coffee just before bed as I sit outside watching the stars.

  65. Jane
    August 16, 2013 / 7:44 am

    First thing Monday morning in the office as a pick me up, then its black decaff all the way with the final decaff last thing at night with a dark chocolate truffle like Booja Booja rounds up the day nicely

  66. August 16, 2013 / 7:56 am

    I usually like a skinny sugar free vanilla latte during the week, around 11 to perk me up and keep me going at the office. At the weekend,when I can take things a bit slower I either get the cafetiere out or I make cappuccinos for hubby and I. I make mine with sugar free almond milk and have a leisurely couple of coffees in the garden. Or if I am off for a run, a quick espresso 30 minutes before 🙂

  67. Talisa
    August 16, 2013 / 8:42 am

    I previously worked in a gym and on my 6am starts, I would brew a fresh pot of coffee in the lounge, whilst bringing in the newspapers. It would often still be dark outside, so I’d sit sipping a freshly poured cup of coffee, just enjoying the silence. Pure bliss 🙂 xx

  68. Sian
    August 16, 2013 / 11:11 am

    I love a skinny decaf latte over a a good gossip and catch up with my mum! She lives in Cardiff and I’m in London so it doesn’t happen often enough!

  69. August 17, 2013 / 11:06 am

    I love a coffee before a workout to give me a bit of extra zing. I try to limit the amount I drink so that when I do drink it, it really gives me a caffeine hit! Unfortunately, iced coffee is too delicious to limit too much…

  70. Gemma
    August 17, 2013 / 11:35 am

    I only just starting liking coffee this year and now I enjoy and love a warm cup of coffee once the kids have had all their breakfasts… I sit down and enjoy it in peace whilst catching up with the gossip on twitter or Facebook! X

  71. Clare Lennox
    August 17, 2013 / 12:03 pm

    I enjoy my coffee at work just after lunch. And when I come home from work after walking in the cold weather 🙂

  72. cecilia
    August 17, 2013 / 12:57 pm

    Coffee is the first thing I think about when I get up in the morning! I can’t function without it!

  73. Michelle Clarke
    August 17, 2013 / 1:02 pm

    love an iced coffee in the morning whilst having a shower, during the summer and a steamy hot one in the winter.

  74. Gemma
    August 17, 2013 / 3:24 pm

    I love to sip a nice soya cappuccino mid-afternoon at my desk at work, as a little treat. It’s a reward for making it through the day 🙂

  75. August 17, 2013 / 3:38 pm

    What can beat that first coffee in the morming – Ideally sitting on the patio in the warmth of the early morning sun..

  76. AG
    August 17, 2013 / 5:18 pm

    I love a cold-brewed iced coffee on a warm day. So refreshing!

  77. Laura
    August 17, 2013 / 9:39 pm

    Definitely first thing on a Monday to start a busy week at work 🙂

  78. Nichola
    August 18, 2013 / 10:25 am

    Definately outside in the garden on a spring morning, has to be a with cream and chocolate sprinkles! 🙂

  79. August 18, 2013 / 12:16 pm

    After breakfast

  80. August 18, 2013 / 12:20 pm

    In the morning before the gym in a banana and oat breakfast smoothie!

  81. Brittany
    August 18, 2013 / 1:02 pm

    I love my coffee climbing a mountain,
    In a fountain,
    With a goat,
    In a boat,
    Before or after a workout,
    In the middle of a twerk-out.
    I love my coffee iced, spiced, anywhere and everywhere!

    Being a full time college student and retail manager definitely calls for some (healthy) GO JUICE!

  82. August 18, 2013 / 2:01 pm

    I love a skinny iced coffee after a good gym session 🙂

  83. Eva
    August 20, 2013 / 9:29 pm

    I love my coffee hot, first thing in the morning, or a decaf after a long day 🙂
    Still enjoy iced coffees at home and on holiday as a refreshing treat too!

  84. Eva
    August 20, 2013 / 9:44 pm

    I LOVE hot coffee first thing in the morning to start off my day, or decaff after a long day.
    I also like coffee when catching up with friends, or an iced coffee as a nice refreshing treat.. LOVE your mocha recipe!!!

  85. August 21, 2013 / 9:20 am

    I enjoy an iced coffee when I get home after the gym or for a dessert after dinner 🙂

  86. Annette
    August 21, 2013 / 1:54 pm

    Mine’s a black decaf in the evening with some dark chocolate – yum. Orzo needs to become more available in shops! Especially for people like me who can’t tolerate the chicory in other coffee alternatives. Did you know that if you have an allergy to birch pollen you might cross-react with chicory??

    • August 21, 2013 / 4:59 pm

      You learn something new every day!! Thank you!!

  87. August 22, 2013 / 10:21 am

    I am a morning coffee person, my favourite is a mocha!

    Loving the website Nic, keep up the great work 🙂

    Anth

    • August 23, 2013 / 11:24 am

      Thanks Anthony!! Sorry you didn’t win this time xx

  88. August 22, 2013 / 10:22 am

    I like to have a coffee mid morning or mid afternoon with some stevia when I fancy a sweet treat but don’t want to indulge! This coffee looks really interesting! I also love have iced coffees all summer long….!

  89. Emma
    August 22, 2013 / 10:27 am

    I love my coffee, in the morning, iced at lunch time, night time coffee, all the time coffee! Unfortunately I’ve had to cut my caffeine intake right down in the last week and I’m really missing it!! I look forward to finding orzo!!

  90. August 22, 2013 / 10:34 am

    The best coffee of the day for me is the first one I have when I get to my desk at work. A strong coffee sets me up for the day.

  91. Lauren Bird
    August 22, 2013 / 10:45 am

    After reading your article about coffee giving you energy whilst working out, I now enjoy a coffee at my desk around 5pm before heading to the gym for 6! By the time I reach the gym I feel energised and raring to go! x

  92. August 22, 2013 / 10:48 am

    I like mine about 9am, after gym and breakfast. It gives me the post-workout pick-me-up I need to get through the day! It has to be a skinny, single shot hazelnut latte too <3

  93. Laura Webster
    August 22, 2013 / 11:26 am

    I love to sit down with an iced coffee after lots of shopping! Treating yourself 🙂

  94. Liz
    August 22, 2013 / 11:35 am

    I work on a chicken farm & my first, & most definitely my favourite cup of coffee is at about 6.30 in the morning, sat outside the barns, before starting work. I just sit quietly & watch the rabbits, sometimes a fox goes past, we have 3 muntjac deer that live in the woods on the farm & loads of owls. It’s just lovely to watch & that first coffee really sets me up for the day!!

  95. radhikesa
    August 22, 2013 / 12:26 pm

    With a hot vegan cherry chocolate brownie and generous helpings of vegan peanut butter ice cream at my favourite cafe,
    Cafe Atma. Spanking gorgeous pal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


+ eight = 10