BFree – Wheat & Gluten Free Bread Review & Giveaway!

BFree – Wheat & Gluten Free Bread Review & Giveaway!

If you’re wheat or gluten free, or simply looking for a new healthy and low calorie, tasty bread or wrap then look no further, BFree Foods are your answer!

Bfree Foods are a relatively new company who produce tasty, ‘good for you’ breads and wraps which are not only gluten* and wheat free, but are dairy free and egg free (wraps only), as well as being high in fibre and low in fat (they are also vegetarian but the breads are not vegan due to the presence of egg white).

The BFree Foods Range consists of:

BFree Selection

  • Soft White Loaf: 60 calories per 35g slice

Real bread, with no wheat! BFree’s delicious Soft White Loaf tastes so good and each 30g slice contains less than 1g of fat and is only 60 calories! This bread is great for making sandwiches or for toasting and has a superior texture & taste to other gluten-free breads. Each slice provides 9.8g carbs, 2.7g protein and 0.5g fat.

White bread has a fairly high GI (meaning that it releases its energy quickly), because of this you should eat it with some sort of protein, fat or fibre i.e. as peanut butter on toast or as a chicken & salad sandwich, which slows down the release of the energy.

  • Brown Seeded Loaf: 68 calories per 35g slice

BFree’s delicious Brown Seeded Loaf is so tasty you won’t believe it’s not wheat! Made with toasted sunflower seeds and golden linseeds, this delicious brown seeded loaf has no wheat or gluten and contains just 68 calories per slice along with 9.2g carbs, 1.9g protein and 1.9g fat.

Seeded bread has a low GI due the presence of the added fibre & healthy fats, meaning that it releases its energy slowly, keeping you fuller for longer. This bread tasted delicious toasted with marmite & banana (a great breakfast or before work-out snack!).

BFree Foods Toast

  • Soft White & Brown Seeded Rolls: 150-170 calories per 75g roll

BFree rolls are fresh and soft and are perfect with soup or are delicious as a sandwich on the go. Each roll provides 23-25g carbs, 5-6g protein and 2-5g fat.

I honestly couldn’t tell the difference between these rolls and regular wheat bread rolls and actually preferred the taste of BFree! I enjoyed the brown seeded rolls with extra light cream cheese & salad for lunch *delicious*!

Brown seeded roll BFree Foods

  • Multigrain Wraps: 99 calories per 46g wrap 

Finally, a wrap with no gluten, no wheat, no dairy and no egg! BFree’s Multigrain Wraps are so tasty, you won’t believe that they’re not wheat! Not only are they high in fibre and low in fat but they are ONLY 99 CALORIES!! You can eat them cold with your favourite sandwich filling or heat them up for delicious, guilt free fajitas!

I filled a warm wrap with smoked salmon, cream cheese & salad and they tasted amazing!

BFree Wraps

The full BFree range is available from Gluten-Free Direct and Ocado and the wraps are available online or from the ‘free from’ aisle in Asda stores.

 

 ***********************************************************************

**BFree 99 Calorie Multigrain Wraps GIVEAWAY**

BFree Wraps

My favourite product from BFree has to be their amazing wraps, which as well as having a relatively long shelf-life can be frozen too.

I have 5 packs of the BFree 99 Calorie Multigrain Wraps to giveaway to one lucky winner!

To enter this giveaway all you have to do is:

1) Comment on this blog post telling me your favourite gluten-free wrap or sandwich filling – mine is cream cheese, smoked salmon & rocket!

2) Click below to register your entry & take the chance to earn more entries – there are 6 ways of entering and each way gives you more of a chance of winning :) – you can tweet about the giveaway daily with each tweet securing you another entry!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This giveaway will be kept open for 2 weeks and so will close on September 23rd 2013.

The winner will be chosen at random by Rafflecopter and will be announced the day after the giveaway closes!

Good luck!

Nic x

***********************************************************************

*Gluten (from Latin “glue”) is a protein found in foods processed from wheat and related grain species, including barley and rye. Gluten gives elasticity to dough, helping it rise and keep its shape and often gives the final product a chewy texture. BFree has developed a recipe and composition that replaces the gluten and wheat and with natural ingredients including corn, tapioca, potato, egg white, rice, buckwheat, maize, sunflower seeds and linseeds.

Coeliac disease (pronounced see-liac, spelt celiac disease in other countries) is an autoimmune disease. Gluten, which is found in wheat, barley and rye triggers an immune reaction in people with coeliac disease. This means that eating gluten damages the lining of the small intestine. Other parts of the body may be affected.

Possible symptoms, which vary from person to person and can range from very mild to severe include: diarrhoea, excessive wind, and/or constipation, persistent or unexplained gastrointestinal symptoms, such as nausea and vomiting, recurrent stomach pain, cramping or bloating, tiredness and/or headaches, weight loss (but not in all cases), mouth ulcers and hair loss (alopecia), amongst other symptoms.

Some symptoms may be mistaken as Irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) or wheat intolerance. Contrary to popular belief, you do not need to be underweight or have lost weight to have coeliac disease. Most people are of normal weight or even overweight at diagnosis.

There are three steps in the diagnosis of coeliac disease:

  1. Discuss your symptoms with your GP.
  2. Get a simple blood test in your GP’s surgery.
  3. Get a referral to a gastroenterologist for a gut biopsy.

 

*Samples of the product mentioned were supplied to me free of charge however this review is 100% honest and of my own opinion. I was compensated in terms of money/a gift of value for the time it took me to write this blog post. I was not influenced in any way by the free samples/incentives supplied and do not promote this product more than other products that I have not reviewed. The products that I am giving away were supplied to me free of charge however I chose to do this giveaway based on the merits of the product itself (from a personal/professional point of view). I do not promote this product more than others that I am not giving away. Please read my disclaimer page for more information.

Category: Product #: Regular price:$ (Sale ends ) Available from: Condition: Good ! Order now!
Reviewed by on. Rating:
Share:

58 Comments

  1. Oliver
    September 9, 2013 / 6:33 am

    My favourite filling is tuna with Greek yoghurt instead of mayonnaise, black pepper & sweetcorn! Love the sound of these wraps Nic!

  2. Carla
    September 9, 2013 / 6:59 am

    You can do an ‘so-unhealthy’ thing by filling it with herbs(basil or mint) and a good vegan cream for cooking(millet,coconut,…) pre-prepared\cooked with cinnamon or black pepper, lemon juice, cacao/cocoa powder or coffee..whatever (instead of using sauces high in sodium and that *unwanted* fat, *always organic* butter/Ghee, cheese like ricotta, olive oil).

  3. Carla
    September 9, 2013 / 7:12 am

    I just cook spice’d mushrooms before adding them.

  4. Jenny Graham
    September 9, 2013 / 7:19 am

    I love Spinach or Rocket with Caramelized Onion & Roasted Peppers!

  5. Laura Samuel
    September 9, 2013 / 7:28 am

    Favourite filling for a wrap is a roasted vegetable with sweet chilli sauce, not too hot!

  6. katrina day-reilly
    September 9, 2013 / 8:36 am

    prawns and mayo

  7. Kate
    September 9, 2013 / 8:46 am

    Feta cheese, olives, baby leaf salad and tomato!

  8. September 9, 2013 / 8:55 am

    Peanut butter!!! I’m only just recently dairy free as well as gluten so this is exciting! X

  9. September 9, 2013 / 9:06 am

    Peanut butter!! I’ve only just become dairy free as well as gluten free so this is exciting! Your posts inspire me for food I can eat!! That is good as well! X

  10. Laura
    September 9, 2013 / 10:27 am

    Sounds odd but baby leaf spinach with mashed avocado, cottage cheese and sundries tomatoes! Although I struggle with breads so been a while since I’ve had this in something other than salad form!

  11. Laura
    September 9, 2013 / 10:30 am

    Sounds odd but works – I like baby leaf spinach with mashed avocado, some cottage cheese and sundries tomatoes!! Yum!

  12. Liza Salt
    September 9, 2013 / 11:30 am

    My favourite filling would have to be chargrilled tofu with rocket, sprouted beans, sunblushed tomatoes, black olives and rocket. Served with smoked hummus and extra salad.

    *

  13. Charlie
    September 9, 2013 / 11:44 am

    I actually LOVE keeping it simple! Scrambled eggs and spinach with a bit of salt and pepper … quick and easy and oh so satisfying!!!!

  14. Emma
    September 9, 2013 / 12:38 pm

    I love these wraps! I can now make gluten free huevos rancheros!
    a freshly fried egg on a GF wrap, homemade guacamole, salsa and a small sprinkling of cheese
    Heaven!

  15. Hester McQueen
    September 9, 2013 / 1:04 pm

    Mozzarella, parma ham, basil leaves, roasted mini plum toms

  16. Hester McQueen
    September 9, 2013 / 1:06 pm

    Wrap with mozzarella, chargrilled baby plum tomatoes, herb salad

  17. Ema G
    September 9, 2013 / 4:55 pm

    Chicken and avocado with balsamic drizzle

  18. Debra Lee
    September 9, 2013 / 8:54 pm

    Hummus with lots of veggies!

  19. Becca F
    September 10, 2013 / 2:40 am

    My local co-op makes a delish vegan walnut pate

  20. Arlinda
    September 10, 2013 / 4:18 am

    Chicken salad sandwich! Now I’m going to make it tomorrow 🙂

  21. Jo Sharp
    September 10, 2013 / 8:23 am

    I have been looknig for a good healthy GF bread!! My favourite is goats cheese and roasted veggies 🙂

  22. Cherryl Thomas
    September 10, 2013 / 10:37 am

    Avocado with allotment grown sungold cherry tomatoes, cucumber and cut and come again lettuce.

  23. Amy
    September 10, 2013 / 1:11 pm

    Has to be hummus, falafel, rocket and cherry tomato..delish 🙂 xx

  24. Amy
    September 10, 2013 / 1:12 pm

    Has to be hummus, falafel, rocket and cherry tomato…delish 🙂 xx

  25. Chloe
    September 10, 2013 / 9:43 pm

    For breakfast I like to fill my wrap with something sweet my fave is almond butter and slices of banana!

  26. Hayley
    September 11, 2013 / 11:58 am

    Roasted vegetable, spinach, Moroccan houmous and avocado! Divine!

  27. Danielle Kinsey
    September 11, 2013 / 2:35 pm

    Chicken mango and baby spinach 🙂

  28. Nikki
    September 12, 2013 / 8:14 pm

    Spinach, feta cheese, tuna and red pepper pesto… Perfect balance of fats, carbs, proteins! Yummmmmmm

  29. euphoriabuzz
    September 12, 2013 / 10:29 pm

    Avocado and prawns in a little natural yogurt

      • euphoriabuzz
        September 26, 2013 / 12:52 pm

        Wow many thanks Nic.

  30. Rhi
    September 13, 2013 / 6:52 am

    Spicy chicken, salad and hummus. Lovely! Can’t wait to try these. Finally a gf product that has good nutritional stats!

  31. Lauren Bird
    September 13, 2013 / 8:34 am

    My favourite is chicken, rocket, tomato, mashed avocado and lots of black pepper- delishhh! x

  32. Laura
    September 13, 2013 / 1:19 pm

    My favourite wrap would be shredded carrot, beetroot and houmous 🙂

  33. September 13, 2013 / 2:44 pm

    My favourite filling is hummus, grated carrot, spinach and cherry tomatoes! 🙂

  34. September 13, 2013 / 10:08 pm

    I love chicken salad. Also love a good blt!

  35. Gill
    September 15, 2013 / 11:13 am

    My favourite filling is prosciutto, fresh figs and basil leaves – great flavours together.

  36. Sarah
    September 16, 2013 / 8:02 pm

    My favorite filling is cream cheese, walnuts and pears. It is Devine 😛

  37. Jo
    September 16, 2013 / 8:04 pm

    Raw Hummus and veggies are delish in a wrap.

  38. Isobelle Keith
    September 16, 2013 / 8:15 pm

    butternut squash, duck and plum sauce 🙂

  39. claire
    September 17, 2013 / 1:31 pm

    I love prawns red onion and cucumber with beetroot YUM 🙂

  40. Lorynn R.
    September 18, 2013 / 5:30 pm

    Strawberries, goat cheese, organic greens & a drizzle of balsamic!

  41. Zoe
    September 20, 2013 / 3:17 pm

    Chargrilled mediterranean vegetables and home -made houmous – yummy 🙂

  42. Andrea McCabe
    September 23, 2013 / 6:55 am

    Portobello mushrooms, halumi cheese and rocket leaves can’t beat it in a wrap

  43. Courtney
    September 23, 2013 / 6:59 am

    Keeping it simple just goooooood! Homemade almond butter topped with strawberries or banana drizzled with homemade strawberry syrup 🙂

  44. Courtney
    September 23, 2013 / 7:08 am

    Easy, quick and fillin!!! Wrap filled with spinach, grilled chicken breast, kale, and cottage cheese

  45. Courtney
    September 23, 2013 / 7:11 am

    Avo! Lean turkey! Cottage cheese! Organic tomato!

  46. Rachael Alfonso
    September 23, 2013 / 9:32 am

    My favorite sandwich filling is chicken, mozzerella, tomato and pesto. Yummy!

  47. Fiona Donaldson
    September 23, 2013 / 4:32 pm

    I like a hot wrap of curried lentils with a dollop of fat free yoghurt and fresh chopped coriander

  48. September 23, 2013 / 4:32 pm

    Hey Nic!

    Ive only recently been aware of my gluten and wheat intolerence and im so gutted as most supermarkets have very little gluten free options! My filling for the wraps would be lean bacon, chicken and avocado!

    Hayley x

    • September 23, 2013 / 4:51 pm

      Maybe you should say something to the store manager – get them to stock BFree 😉 good luck!! Nic x

  49. Sean Bennett
    September 23, 2013 / 4:36 pm

    Chicken, pepper, tomato, lettuce, red onion and mayo

  50. Eve
    September 23, 2013 / 6:57 pm

    I love wraps with yummy homegrown roasted courgettes, red onion and goats cheese. MMMMmmm!

  51. Jennifer Carroll
    September 23, 2013 / 8:44 pm

    I love humus, chicken and salad 🙂

  52. Joy
    September 23, 2013 / 9:36 pm

    Am both gluten and dairy free so try to live as healthily as possible to keep my energy levels UP and my stomach flat and not bloated ahaha My favourite gluten free wrap filling definitely has to be Hummus, grated carrot and rocket. Very flavourful and so healthy!

  53. Michelle
    January 23, 2016 / 6:01 pm

    I eat GF and diary and want ti try this! I can’t find a site that has it in stock. I usually just skip bread, even GF because I haven’t been happy with any.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


− 6 = zero